[Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22968
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by Cosmo. »

Undo the renaming. Again at first delete the newly created folders, than rename, than log off and back in.

We will check now, if there is some wrong ownership in your account.
Mark the following command and press ctrl-C

Code: Select all

find $HOME ! -user $USER -type f
open a terminal and press ctrl-shift-V
Mark the complete result inclusive the command with the mouse and press ctrl-shift-C
In the forum click the Code-button above the text box, than press ctrl-v.

Report in case, that there is no output.
wtlhk

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by wtlhk »

Cosmo. wrote:Undo the renaming. Again at first delete the newly created folders, than rename, than log off and back in.

We will check now, if there is some wrong ownership in your account.
Mark the following command and press ctrl-C

Code: Select all

find $HOME ! -user $USER -type f
open a terminal and press ctrl-shift-V
Mark the complete result inclusive the command with the mouse and press ctrl-shift-C
In the forum click the Code-button above the text box, than press ctrl-v.

Report in case, that there is no output.
wtlhk@Hello ~ $ find $HOME ! -user $USER -type f
/home/wtlhk/.local/share/font-manager/Collections.xml
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Group
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Installtid
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Sha1header
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Obsoletename
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Triggername
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/.dbenv.lock
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Name
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Dirnames
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Sigmd5
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Packages
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/__db.001
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/__db.003
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Basenames
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Requirename
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Providename
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/Conflictname
/home/wtlhk/.rpmdb/__db.002
find: `/home/wtlhk/.config/enchant': Permission denied
/home/wtlhk/.config/linuxmint/mintupdate.ignored
/home/wtlhk/.config/linuxmint/mintUpdate.conf
/home/wtlhk/.config/fontgroups.xml
/home/wtlhk/.face
/home/wtlhk/.gnome2/accels/gedit
/home/wtlhk/.gnome2/gedit/gedit-2
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22968
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by Cosmo. »

The next surprise. Not the fact, that my suspicion about wrong ownership was correct. But the fact to find the .rpmdb folder in your home. This sounds, that you used rpm-packages to install software.

Correcting the ownership is rather easy:
Mark the following command completely and make sure, that you do not miss any sign, than press ctrl-C

Code: Select all

find /home/$SUDO_USER ! -user $SUDO_USER -exec chown $SUDO_USER:$SUDO_USER '{}' \;
Open a terminal and enter

Code: Select all

sudo -i
Now still in the same terminal press ctrl-shift-V
Run this command and wait until it has finished.
Press twice ctrl-d
Immediately log off and back into your account.

But I cannot tell you, what those rpm-packages might have done in your system. So even if with the correction of the ownership the original problem should be solved, I consider your system as a case for a new installation.
wtlhk

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by wtlhk »

Cosmo. wrote:The next surprise. Not the fact, that my suspicion about wrong ownership was correct. But the fact to find the .rpmdb folder in your home. This sounds, that you used rpm-packages to install software.

Correcting the ownership is rather easy:
Mark the following command completely and make sure, that you do not miss any sign, than press ctrl-C

Code: Select all

find /home/$SUDO_USER ! -user $SUDO_USER -exec chown $SUDO_USER:$SUDO_USER '{}' \;
Open a terminal and enter

Code: Select all

sudo -i
Now still in the same terminal press ctrl-shift-V
Run this command and wait until it has finished.
Press twice ctrl-d
Immediately log off and back into your account.

But I cannot tell you, what those rpm-packages might have done in your system. So even if with the correction of the ownership the original problem should be solved, I consider your system as a case for a new installation.
I read carefully and did what you said, and unfortunately the power button still not working...

And I don't know how did I install those packages since I only update from repository and install from apt-get.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22968
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by Cosmo. »

The repositories do not provide rpm-packages. No idea, what has happened there.

I could tell you a way out of the original problem, but to be honest, it would be as if you would heal a painful, but harmless wound, if you know, that the patient has a serious illness. So my serious advice is to backup your data and start with a new installation.
igor-tg

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by igor-tg »

Same problem here. Checked my /etc/systemd/logind.conf file and HandlePowerKey option was set as

Code: Select all

HandlePowerKey=ignore
Just changed to

Code: Select all

HandlePowerKey=poweroff
And it worked.

It's weird since I never changed such file. Seems It was set in that way by the install process.
TooMuchTime

Re: [Help Request] Power button is not functioning

Post by TooMuchTime »

You can try this.

Code: Select all

dpkg -l | grep acpid
You should get something similar to the following:

Code: Select all

ii  acpid   1:2.0.26-1ubuntu2   amd64
You can either uninstall acpid first:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get uninstall acpid
or just install it.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install acpid
Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”