Vegastrike and creating a launcher

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
EKMA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:48 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Vegastrike and creating a launcher

Postby EKMA » Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:28 pm

I installed the game Vegastrike. Everything installed fine...I can run the game when I go to the folder where I installed it.

My problem is that if I try to create a launcher on the desktop, it looks as if it should work. The path on the launcher is to the same file I clicked before, but, what happens is that the screen resolution (desktop) will change to the games resolution and then freezes. I've been able to create launchers for other programs, but, this one doesn't want to work...any suggestions? Any more information someone might need to help me get through this?

Thanks in advance,

Cliff

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Vegastrike and creating a launcher

Postby Husse » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:13 pm

This seems absurd, but if you've been into computers for some time you know that the absurd has a tendency to happen :shock:
Where is the game executive and what does your launcher look like ?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
EKMA
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:48 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Re: Vegastrike and creating a launcher

Postby EKMA » Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:32 pm

Husse,

Thanks for responding so quickly. I'll try to answer as best I can since I'm at work right now.

The Launcher is the one you create by right clicking on the desktop (you choose "Create Launcher" and then browse to the files location). The game executable is in the "Documents" folder (subfolder vegastrike/bin...or something like that). It's really weird....never had it happen to me before...hope this answers your question...if not, let me know.

Thanks

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Vegastrike and creating a launcher

Postby Husse » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:39 am

The game executable is in the "Documents" folder

Installed in home?
Executables should not be in a Documents folder (unless home perhaps)
This can be something with your path if in home
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bjmh46 and 11 guests