Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 1:18 pm
by xdicey
Considering what Clem said here,viewtopic.php?f=47&t=230440&start=40 should I apply this update? I've a 64bit machine. If I don't need it, how do I get it out of Update Manger then?
Thanks.
This issue is now fixed in firefox 49.0+linuxmint2+rosa. You can upgrade to this version via the Update Manager.

If you are using a mirror, please note that it can take a few hours for this new version to become available.

Note: We received an email earlier this week about random crashes but the sender didn't specify how to reproduce it, or the fact that it only happened in i386 (it's very telling when an issue only affects one architecture) and told us his issue was already fixed in version 49.0.1. This version was for Windows only, so it was dismissed. Your detailed feedback on the other hand immediately put us on the right track. It's a pity this thread only came to our attention today. Many thanks for your patience and for your help in fixing this issue. Issues which only affect Linux Mint and not Ubuntu, or which only affect one architecture are both extremely rare and very easy to fix. If you encounter one of them again in the future, please make sure to contact the development team.

I'm locking this thread for impacted users in order to give its resolution max-visibility.

Re: 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:01 pm
by JEB
Right click the update in Update Manager and click 'ignore'. If at a later date you would like to revisit the update, you will find it under the Ignored tab of Update Manager.

Hope this helps
JEB

Re: 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:37 pm
by BG405
The issue was with the 32-bit version for LM17.x and it's now been fixed as per Clem's post, so even if you're using 32-bit Firefox on your 64-bit system, it should be OK to update it now.

Re: 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:22 pm
by Cosmo.
Following the changelog there is only the change as announcement for the 32 bit version. I assume, that the 64 bit version got that update, to get identical version numbers for both architecture. If they would be different, 64 bit users would ask why their FF is seemingly older than the one on 32 bit. Apply it; the tip of JEB is for now valid, it it bears the risk, that you will miss the next update, when it arrives.

Re: 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:04 pm
by xdicey
Thanks for your responses guys.

My question has been answered and now I can make a choice knowing whichever I make is ok. :).

Re: [SOLVED] 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:15 pm
by JEB
As pointed out by Cosmo, you will miss the next update for that particular item. This FF update was applied to both 64 and 32 bit. I had 'ignored' the update for the 32 bit. I also have a 64 bit system which is how I knew that there was a new update. I went to the 32 bit system and had to remove FF from the 'ignore' list to get the new update. Have had no problems. Tested for about 1 hr. However my primary browser is Pale Moon.

Hope this helps
JEB

@ Cosmo, my deepest apologies for the earlier misspelling of your name.

Re: [SOLVED] 32bit FF update for 64bit too?

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:19 pm
by xdicey
JEB wrote:As pointed out by Cosmos, you will miss the next update for that particular item. This FF update was applied to both 64 and 32 bit. I had 'ignored' the update for the 32 bit. I also have a 64 bit system which is how I knew that there was a new update. I went to the 32 bit system and had to remove FF from the 'ignore' list to get the new update. Have had no problems. Tested for about 1 hr. However my primary browser is Pale Moon.

Hope this helps
JEB
Yes, it does help JEB. I'm using only 64 bit FF on this 64 bit Machine. So I'll just apply the update anyway so all will be well.

Thanks.