Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
sddfdds
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:00 pm

Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Postby sddfdds » Sun Jan 15, 2017 1:59 pm

Screenshot from 2017-01-15 09-52-55.png
I have a simple sfv checking program, and in the profile preferences of terminal, I have it set to 'hold the terminal open" when a program exits, so I can see the result. Granted I can see that it says child process exited normally with status 0, but why is this grey box covering the output? (This is new with 18.1) I tried messing with the colors in the theme but that didn't do anything and can't seem to figure out a way to get rid of it.

User avatar
CycleRob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:16 am
Location: Gainesville, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Postby CycleRob » Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:58 pm

I experienced the same problem . . . the banner covering up the output (using LM 18.2). Searching and reading through the entire terminal help file and terminal section of the LM 18 user manual came up blank. Is there anyone that can help us understand and correct this?

--Thanks in Advance--
LinuxMint 18.3 Cinnamon64, Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3, IntelG3220, 8GB DDR3, Samsung128GB 850ProSSD, ViewSonic 28" LED Monitor.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10347
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Postby WharfRat » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:10 am

sddfdds,

What is this program. where did you get it and is it much different than cksfv from the repo :?:
Image ImageImage

User avatar
CycleRob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:16 am
Location: Gainesville, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Postby CycleRob » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:13 pm

My problem is terminal output is covered by "child process exited normally with status 0" error banner

Terminal program is:
"GNOME Terminal, 3.18.3, A terminal emulator for the GNOME desktop Using VTE version 0.42.5 +GNUTLS"
I loaded terminal with a user created desktop link:
inxi (checked the box "run in terminal")

The problem may be with an incomplete command line in the desktop link.
Last edited by CycleRob on Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LinuxMint 18.3 Cinnamon64, Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3, IntelG3220, 8GB DDR3, Samsung128GB 850ProSSD, ViewSonic 28" LED Monitor.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10347
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Postby WharfRat » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:42 pm

I meant the sfv checking program, not the terminal.

When running inxi you should just open the terminal application from the menu and enter inxi
Image ImageImage

User avatar
CycleRob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:16 am
Location: Gainesville, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: Grey box in terminal covering output/result

Postby CycleRob » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:35 pm

WharfRat, Thanks for the suggestion. I was doing that but wanted the whole operation to be executed with just a double click on a created desktop link. Then that concealing banner appears!
FYI, recently discovered that tapping the keyboard's up arrow in the Terminal recalls dozens of your previous terminal commands, so, for quick-n-easy, (a panel Terminal icon click) then (UpArrow [x nn times]) <enter> gets me many different desired output results like running the "sudo fstrim -v /" SSD command. Saves a lot of typing.
LinuxMint 18.3 Cinnamon64, Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3, IntelG3220, 8GB DDR3, Samsung128GB 850ProSSD, ViewSonic 28" LED Monitor.


Return to “Software & Applications”