install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
AnotherLover
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:40 pm

install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by AnotherLover » Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:54 pm

Alright I have Maya installed on this old T42 and I'm trying to install firefox41 (the one in software manager). Things are kinda flippy when it comes to software upgrades. When i do "apt-get update" i get error messages about packages not found, and "apt-get upgrade" gives me a ton of error messages and nothing happens -- just like when I try it through the update manager. So I go to Software Manager, which informs me Firefox is ready to be installed, I click "install," type my password, and watch as absolutely nothing happens.

I downloaded the tar file for the latest firefox and extracted that to my home folder and ran it from there. I decided firefox 51 is too much for the machine -- I could be wrong about that because the machine is running pretty slow these days for anything else as well. Anyway, I just deleted firefox from the home folder to uninstall it. So maybe it's still installed in some ways. Anyway, this is a big freakin' headache and I don't even know where to start. I'd like to get firefox installed.

OK, so inxi says:
CPU~Single core Intel Pentium M (-UP-) clocked at 800.000 Mhz Kernel~3.2.0-88-generic i686 Up~2:03 Mem~500.8/1001.0MB HDD~40.0GB(40.6% used) Procs~140 Client~Shell inxi~1.7.33

Best. Thanks.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by Cosmo. » Mon Feb 13, 2017 3:45 pm

AnotherLover wrote:I decided firefox 51 is too much for the machine
Without the least doubt a wrong decision. Any version below the most current one is packed with security leaks.

Open the software sources and deactivate all PPAs you have probably added, then refresh the cache. Now try again to update, whatever the update manager offers for level 1 to 3.

You cannot expect in these days, that a single-core Pentium with 800 Mz will be able to compete with current multi-core CPUs.

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11219
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by karlchen » Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:03 pm

Hi, AnotherLover.

A machine that can run Firefox 41 can also run Firefox 51.

Code: Select all

karl@paulchen ~ $ inxi -CMIS; LC_ALL=C dpkg --list firefox | grep "^ii"
System:    Host: paulchen Kernel: 3.13.0-108-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: Xfce 4.12.2
           Distro: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Acer product: AOD260 v: V1.08_Vodafone
           Mobo: Acer model: AOD260 v: V1.08_Vodafone BIOS: Acer v: V1.08_Vodafone date: 06/29/2010
Battery    BAT0: charge: 11.5 Wh 48.0% condition: 24.0/44.0 Wh (54%)
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom N450 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 1666 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1666 MHz
Info:      Processes: 173 Uptime: 44 min Memory: 564.0/991.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8 
ii  firefox	51.0.1+build2-0ubuntu0.14.04.2	i386	Safe and easy web browser from Mozilla
Karl
Last edited by karlchen on Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: amended the inxi command to display the CPU as well
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 32-bit xfce Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 32-bit
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

AnotherLover
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:40 pm

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by AnotherLover » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:37 am

ha ha thanks yeah I figured that out along the way that 41 pretty much equals 51 in terms of memory etc. And so yeah that's what I'm running it works fine. Goin easy on the tabs and resuming the "wait, give it time" mantra. I like the idea of removing ppa's and emptying the cache. I suppose there's a tutorial for that. Thanks much.

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by austin.texas » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:39 am

AnotherLover wrote:I like the idea of removing ppa's and emptying the cache. I suppose there's a tutorial for that.
Fortunately, removing PPA's and refreshing the cache to too easy to require a tutorial. Open the Software Sources program. Menu > Administration > Software Sources > PPA > Remove (or disable)/
Just click, click, click - it's real easy, man.

To refresh the cache, click the "Refresh the Cache" button.
Don't ask me where the "Refresh the Cash" button is - I keep looking for it.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by BG405 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:59 pm

Maybe some packages have gone from the mirrors you are using? Worth trying others. Maya is close to EOL.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

AnotherLover
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:40 pm

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by AnotherLover » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:48 am

Fortunately, removing PPA's and refreshing the cache to too easy to require a tutorial. Open the Software Sources program. Menu > Administration > Software Sources > PPA > Remove (or disable)/
Just click, click, click - it's real easy, man.

To refresh the cache, click the "Refresh the Cache" button.
Don't ask me where the "Refresh the Cash" button is - I keep looking for it.
Okay, I don't know if you're joking about resetting the cache. I don't even know what cache I would be resetting or what a ppa is. I don't have "Administration" in the menu, I have "Settings," and in "Software Sources" I have 3 tabs. One of those tabs, labelled "Other Software," has a list including some PPA's, but it doesn't address PPA's in any menu and doesn't mention any cache anywhere. So no luck there.

Could you tell me how I'm actually supposed to install firefox from the tar file? I have the folder and I just run firefox from there -- either from my home directory or from the desktop. It feels pretty lame and I don't know what the steps are to actually install it like other software. I could repost that question, too, of course. Thanks!

grumpy_geek
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: install firefox, apt-get update fail, software manager fail

Post by grumpy_geek » Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:50 am

AnotherLover wrote:Could you tell me how I'm actually supposed to install firefox from the tar file?
https://support.mozilla.org/t5/Install- ... /ta-p/2516


Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”