iPhone 6 will not mount

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
slinger1953
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:03 am
Location: London, England

iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by slinger1953 »

Linux Mint 17,

When I had my 32bit motherboard I could open the picture file on my iphone.
I had to change the motherboard to 64bit and now find that I cannot get into my phone.
When I first plug it in I get the message "The Device "iPhone" is locked enter passcode and try again", fine, the connection is there.
When I enter passcode I get "Unable to mount iPhone Error (-20).
I have browsed for suggestions, followed advice given, but all without success.
My question is, it it my new PC, my Linux version Mint 17, which is up to date or the latest update on my iPhone.

Finally, can anyone help me please? I do not want to have to use Windows again just for this problem.

Thank you.
LM19 Tara 64 Bit Mate 1.20.1
Acer AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G x 4

willieaames
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:57 am
Location: Denver

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by willieaames »

What method did you use to install libmobiledevice?

User avatar
slinger1953
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:03 am
Location: London, England

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by slinger1953 »

Hello willeames,
I have the iPhone 6s
When I went to the terminal and entered libmobiledevice, it could not be found, and would not know the correct way t install it, any advice please?
LM19 Tara 64 Bit Mate 1.20.1
Acer AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G x 4

User avatar
slinger1953
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:03 am
Location: London, England

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by slinger1953 »

Oh well, it looks as if I will have to go back to Windows iTunes, something I was quite happy to do without.
LM19 Tara 64 Bit Mate 1.20.1
Acer AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G x 4

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8951
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by jimallyn »

You would install libimobiledevice the same way you would install anything else on Linux Mint: you would use Synaptic or Software Manager. Both of these can be found in the Menu under Administration. There is a tutorial on installing software here:

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=97158

Note that the name of the program you need is libimobiledevice, not libmobiledevice.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

User avatar
slinger1953
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:03 am
Location: London, England

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by slinger1953 »

Thank you jimallyn,
libimobiledevice is already installed, I had entered the wrong name "libmobiledevice" as previously advised.

However, I still have the same problem, my iPhone 6se will not mount, I have found that this problem seems to be quite common at the moment for people like me who are not able to work their problem out for themselves.

Also, is it Linux Mint (17) or Apple.

The really annoying thing is that I had no problem at all when I was using my old Desktop, Linux mint 17 32bit

But anyway, thanks again.
LM19 Tara 64 Bit Mate 1.20.1
Acer AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G x 4

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by BenTrabetere »

slinger1953 wrote:Also, is it Linux Mint (17) or Apple.
I blame Apple. Without hesitation or reservation. I have an old iPhone 4 running iOS 7.1, and it plays nice-nice with LM MATE 64-bit. Same with my iPod ... until I sent it through the wash.

I have/use an iPhone 5, and things broke for me with the iOS 10 upgrade. I can mount the device, but nothing works with it. Before the iOS 10 upgrade I could transfer images and manage my music library and playlists. Now, it mounts to the image folder and Pix offers to import the images, but the folder is "empty."

Toreador1977
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: iPhone 6 will not mount

Post by Toreador1977 »

Need to chime in here. There are a few libimobiledevice listed in the software manager. Once I installed libimobiledevice-dev and libimobiledevice6 I was able to mount my iphone 5s with ios 10.1.1 and was able to transfer my photos and videos. I will note that I also just updated my kernel to 4.10.0-14

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”