Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
tms
Level 1
Level 1

Chrome browser

Post by tms » Mon Mar 06, 2017 5:49 pm

Earlier today, I was in gmail, and when I closed out, it wouldn't close. The warning about trying to contact gmail.com appeared, and then after a while, it stopped so I just closed the browser. I've done that before without any problems, but this time, chrome no longer starts up.

Going to the desktop icon "permissions", I find the message:
"Allowing untrusted programs to run
presents a security risk to your system."

I reinstalled chrome, but that didn't change anything.

Somebody please tell how to get the chrome browser working again

Thank you.

M Patterson
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Chrome browser

Post by M Patterson » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:03 pm

I'm not an expert. I've had this OS for just a few days.

I was under the impression that Google pulled support for Chrome from Linux, and left it with Chromium, instead. I'm not sure if you really mean Chromium, but if you're really running Chrome, I would remove it and install Chromium from the software manager.

:mrgreen: Someone's going to look at what I just wrote and say, "What the heck is he talking about?" Go easy on me; I'm a total newbie.

pizzadude
Level 2
Level 2

Post by pizzadude » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:38 pm

M Patterson wrote:I'm not an expert. I've had this OS for just a few days.

I was under the impression that Google pulled support for Chrome from Linux, and left it with Chromium, instead. I'm not sure if you really mean Chromium, but if you're really running Chrome, I would remove it and install Chromium from the software manager.

:mrgreen: Someone's going to look at what I just wrote and say, "What the heck is he talking about?" Go easy on me; I'm a total newbie.
I was under the impression that Google pulled support for Chrome from Linux, and left it with Chromium, instead.