LibreOffice not displaying foreign characters (Solved)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
gemk65
Level 3
Level 3

LibreOffice not displaying foreign characters (Solved)

Post by gemk65 »

Hello,

I have been enjoying Linux Mint since I installed it two months ago.

One problem that I have found is that, in a certain situation (described below), I have not been able to get LibreOffice Calc to display Hebrew characters correctly.

If I am doing something wrong, or if I have not made all of the configurations that I need to make, I would appreciate any guidance.

I have:

- Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit
- Cinnamon 3.2.7
- Linux Kernel 4.4.0-53-generic

The following details are pertinent:

1. I downloaded data, in the form of an Excel spreadsheet file (.xls), from one of the websites that I use frequently.

2. When I open the .xls file with LibreOffice Calc, the Hebrew characters appear as follows:

עמלה ערוץ ביצוע ×ミסמכתה יתרה לסוף יו×ン ב-₪

3. When I open this same Excel file with MS Excel, all Hebrew characters display as perfectly readable Hebrew, and appear just as intended.

4. In Cinnamon Control Center ("System Settings"), I have successfully made an installation/configuration in the Language category, and it now shows: "Hebrew Israel UTF-8 -- Fully Installed".

5. In Cinnamon Control Center ("System Settings"), in the Keyboard category, in Layouts >> Options >> Switching to Another Layout, I have successfully set a keyboard combination to switch (toggle) the keyboard layout between English and Hebrew.

6. In LibreOffice, under Tools >> Options >> Language Settings >> Languages >> Default Languages >> CTL (Complex Text Layout), I have selected Hebrew.