Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
minty_fresh_17
Level 1
Level 1

Chromium Won't Launch

Post by minty_fresh_17 »

Hello,

I am relatively new to Linux, so there's much I'm sure I don't know, but I have generally been enjoying it. So far I've used Chrome without any problems, but today it refuses to launch. My attempts to fix this issue have been stymied and I don't know where to go next, so I'm hoping someone can give me an idea of what to do.

I'm running the 32-bit version of Linux Mint Serena (MATE 1.16.2) and I have the Chrome launch icon embedded in the panel at the bottom of the desktop for convenience. When I clicked the icon this morning, Chrome *appeared* to be starting to launch... its little tab stating "Starting Chromium W..." appeared in the panel and the little loading circle began. However, after several seconds, both vanished and nothing happened - Chrome did not seem to launch.

I launched Firefox instead (which is working fine) and searched through some forum questions trying to figure this out. Based on some suggestions I saw there, I opened terminal and entered the "top" command to see if Chrome was running and I just couldn't see it. I saw firefox, and a couple of Web Content listings, but nothing that looked like Chrome. I also tried typing in "sudo chromium" to see if I could get the application to launch from there - terminal requested my password with [sudo] password for me: (and this is where it gets weirder), and although the cursor sat there flashing like normal, terminal would not allow me to type my administrative password. If I entered it with the keys, it simply did not appear on the screen, and when I pressed enter on the bizarre off-chance that somehow my password was there even if I couldn't see it, it didn't accept it. If I try to type in my password and press enter, I either get "Sorry, try again" or "sudo: chromium: command not found". So I'm stuck there.