Firefox 55.x needed - how to?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
vliscony
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:07 pm
Location: Bronx, NY
Contact:

Firefox 55.x needed - how to?

Postby vliscony » Thu Nov 09, 2017 10:35 am

My firefox was at 56.x but now I have some app that needs 55.x

I can uninstall via the software manager, but I have not figured out how to install version 55.0. All I find is a tar.bz2 file for 55.0, but no .deb in sight.
Last edited by vliscony on Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
[b]LM18.2 with 4.8 kernel, ZaReason Valta xi991, Intel Core i-7 6 core, 64 GB RAM; Radeon RX480 8GB GDDR5; SSD 500 GB; HD 2x 2TB/8GB cache; CD/DVD RW, Blu-ray/DVD/CD burner; Bluetooth USB BT; card reader; Logitech OrbitSphere/AF; HP Officejet Pro 8630

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4552
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Firefox 55.x needed - how to?

Postby Flemur » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:06 am

vliscony wrote:My firefox was at 56.x but now I have some app that needs 55.x

In synaptic

Code: Select all

gksudo synaptic

search for firefox and see if there's an old version there; then -
synaptic->Package->Force version.

Or, this is what I use:
https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/
The files are archives that you expand into a directory, then make a link to the executable; they're not regular linux/Mint installation files (not .deb) and Mint won't think firefox is installed after you remove your current one.
Mint 18.2 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less - Xubuntu 16.10/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

Hoser Rob
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2829
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Firefox 55.x needed - how to?

Postby Hoser Rob » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:20 am

Using an old version of a browser is an excellent way to get hacked ... one of the most reliable. I don't think you need the latest versions of all you software (if I did I'd run a rolling release) but browsers, yes, you do.

So what I'm wondering is how badly do you jneed that unspecified app?

User avatar
vliscony
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:07 pm
Location: Bronx, NY
Contact:

Re: Firefox 55.x needed - how to?

Postby vliscony » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:05 pm

yes, that risk concerns me...

My alternative is to run it on a windows box. or to install a windows vm on this machine and run ff55.00 in it, on Windows.
[b]LM18.2 with 4.8 kernel, ZaReason Valta xi991, Intel Core i-7 6 core, 64 GB RAM; Radeon RX480 8GB GDDR5; SSD 500 GB; HD 2x 2TB/8GB cache; CD/DVD RW, Blu-ray/DVD/CD burner; Bluetooth USB BT; card reader; Logitech OrbitSphere/AF; HP Officejet Pro 8630

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4552
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Firefox 55.x needed - how to?

Postby Flemur » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:51 pm

vliscony wrote:yes, that risk concerns me...

I never worry about it and never have any problems and always run old versions (currently FF47) until forced to update for whatever reason, mostly because each new FF is a little worse than the previous one. I found FF 56 to be almost unusable.
Mint 18.2 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less - Xubuntu 16.10/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?


Return to “Software & Applications”