SOLVED lm18.2 xfce-64 some fstab items in /media/ instead of / root

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
sadhu
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

SOLVED lm18.2 xfce-64 some fstab items in /media/ instead of / root

Postby sadhu » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:38 am

I just got lm18.2 xfce going and working. But a couple of key partitions, specified in /etc/fstab (with verified UUID by blkid), are showing up in /media/sadhu/ instead of /root. The directories are /ddr and /zmv.

The ls -la command shows /ddr and /zmv as directories. But i have application launchers set to "/ddr/bin/<my app>, and when I click them I get a 'file not found' error box.

However, in running /media/sadhu/ddr/<my app> works.

How do I get the entries out of /media/sadhu and back to to the root where they belong? --so that all my and links, .profile entries, etc., will work?


Thanks
-Sadhu
Last edited by sadhu on Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4537
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: lm18.2 xfce-64 some fstab items in /media/ instead of / root

Postby Flemur » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:34 pm

sadhu wrote:But a couple of key partitions, specified in /etc/fstab (with verified UUID by blkid),
...
How do I get the entries out of /media/sadhu and back to to the root where they belong?

It sounds like the info in /etc/fstab is incorrect.

Post output from these:

Code: Select all

ls -l /ddr /zmv
cat /etc/fstab | grep -v ^#
blkid
Mint 18.2 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less - Xubuntu 16.10/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

sadhu
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: lm18.2 xfce-64 some fstab items in /media/ instead of / root

Postby sadhu » Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:37 pm

Flemur wrote:It sounds like the info in /etc/fstab is incorrect.

TYVM.
:mrgreen: I had commented out all of the fstab entries in order to find out which one wasn't working (getting a "press s to skip..." error on boot).

But :mrgreen: I forgot to uncomment them :mrgreen: I'm getting old and blind.

Don't grow old, is my advice. it's not worth it, no matter what anybody says.

-sadhu
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dgoddard, tovian and 9 guests