I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Palladini921
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:21 pm

I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by Palladini921 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:26 pm

I am not sure if this is the right section to post this in, but here goes the post=
I have both Windows 10 and Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya Cinnamon running on Laptop hooked Via HDMI cable to our HD TV. When I run windows, it shows up perfectly at 1024 X 768 on the HD TV in mirrored mode. The problem in Linux I am Having is when I go Display, I can set the Laptop to that 1024 X 768, but when I click the Mirror display button, it goes to 1280 X720. This makes the Task Bar, which I have on the side of the screen not show on the TV. By pressing the Windows Key on my keyboard I can see about 1/3 of the menu
This is Problem that you folks who know how to do this need to fix please.

https://youtu.be/FdsMD3NvVsU
Last edited by Palladini921 on Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2767
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by JerryF » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:33 pm

This information with help with someone who can aid you. Run this command in Terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
then copy and paste the result into your reply between Code tags.
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
Palladini921
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by Palladini921 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:43 pm

I enter that code from above and it returns this -

Code: Select all

System:    Host: TV-Computer Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   Mobo: Acer model: Aspire E1-522 v: V2.02
           Bios: Insyde v: V2.02 date: 05/03/2013
CPU:       Quad core AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 11977
           clock speeds: max: 1500 MHz 1: 950 MHz 2: 950 MHz 3: 1100 MHz
           4: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini [Radeon HD 8330]
           bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x720@59.97hz, 1280x720@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD KABINI (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.10.0-38-generic, LLVM 4.0.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA8171 Gigabit Ethernet
           driver: alx port: 2000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0f0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: wlp5s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 758.2GB (2.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD0 size: 750.2GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Cruzer size: 8.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 296G used: 8.8G (4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 5.84GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda8
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 57.0C mobo: 36.0C gpu: 57.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 204 Uptime: 1:02 Memory: 751.1/5402.6MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
Last edited by Moem on Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added [code] tags for easier reading

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2767
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by JerryF » Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:43 pm

Have you tried setting the external monitor as the primary monitor instead of using mirroring?
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
Palladini921
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by Palladini921 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:49 pm

Yes I have, but the TV does not show1024 X 768. Now that think about, a bit later I will make a video trying to show what happens when I do that

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2767
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by JerryF » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:57 pm

Just noticed from your specs that the native resolution for your graphics on your laptop is 1280x720. You should be setting your display to that.

Then try mirroring the display
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
Palladini921
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by Palladini921 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:19 pm

I have st it to that, mirrored display and it is still too big for my TV screen. When I open the menu, using the windows key, on the left side of the Tv screen, about 1/3 of the menu is cut off. If I had any Idea how to post images on this forum I would take either a Video or Image and show you.https://youtu.be/2jGpYXnjjNA

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2767
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by JerryF » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:52 am

Palladini921 wrote:I have st it to that, mirrored display and it is still too big for my TV screen. When I open the menu, using the windows key, on the left side of the Tv screen, about 1/3 of the menu is cut off. If I had any Idea how to post images on this forum I would take either a Video or Image and show you.https://youtu.be/2jGpYXnjjNA
To post images (100 kb or less), when you're writing or replying to a post, at the bottom you'll see a tab ‘Attachments'. Then you get a button ‘Add Files'.
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: I cannot display Linux Mint Properly on my HD TV

Post by ClixTrix » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:15 am

You need to set the HD TV display (assuming it is an HD TV) to match the input signal from the laptop. The laptop is producing a 720p signal. The TV setting should have a method to change picture resolution or sizing ratio, i.e. either something like 720p or aspect ratio. HD is 16:9 ratio, e.g. 1280x720. The 1024x768 that you mentioned is 4:3 ratio (older TV that's non-HD).

While this article might not match exactly your TV, it does convey the idea.

http://support.sasktel.com/app/answers/ ... ur-tv-type

You might also have a more generic setting, e.g. normal, wide, movie.

Edit: I have seen a few TVs with an auto-sync setting that automatically detects signal and adjusts the screen.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-32-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”