paiyaso
Level 1
Level 1

Can't install firefox

Postby paiyaso » Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:38 am

Due to this error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintinstall/AptClient/AptClient.py", line 74, in _run
cache.commit(acquire_progress_monitor, install_progress_monitor)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/apt/cache.py", line 512, in commit
res = self._fetch_archives(fetcher, pm)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/apt/cache.py", line 346, in _fetch_archives
return self._run_fetcher(fetcher)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/apt/cache.py", line 325, in _run_fetcher
raise FetchFailedException(err_msg)
FetchFailedException: Failed to fetch http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/upst ... _amd64.deb 404 Not Found [IP: 68.235.39.11 80]

I am just a newbie, searched for more information about this but couldn't really find anything.

Moem
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Can't install firefox

Postby Moem » Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:42 am

Firefox is already installed.

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

paiyaso
Level 1
Level 1

Postby paiyaso » Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:48 am

Moem wrote:Firefox is already installed.

Yeah, I uninstalled it from software manager because I was trying to update to Firefox 57 but couldn't really do it, so seems like there are still some files left? How to get rid of them?

Moem
Level 12
Level 12

Postby Moem » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:04 am

And how are you trying to reinstall it?

Updating to version 57 is done through the Updater, and the update is offered to you automatically. Honestly you're making this much more complicated than it needed to be, all you had to do is fetch your updates. But I'm sure we can help you fix this, no worries.

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

paiyaso
Level 1
Level 1

Postby paiyaso » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:12 am