[SOLVED] sudo freshclam errored

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:43 pm

Sorry, changing the chip-sets is what was suggested but I think it did try to get the driver. But that is already in the computer, just not loaded.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10985
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by Pjotr » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:50 pm

I fail to see what you mean. The instruction in the web link I provided in my previous message, is for installing the rtlwifi_new driver. That's it and that's all.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:07 pm

I apologize. I did it again and it installed (I think) but the wffi still only works in the same room as the router. No change. I guess I will just have to wait and see if Realtek sends Mr. Finger the correct code. Thanks.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10985
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by Pjotr » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:25 pm

OK....

a. Please generate an overview of your system like this:
- Launch a terminal window (this is how to launch a terminal window);
- make the terminal window full screen, to avoid chopped lines;
- Copy/paste this command into the terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
(if you type: the letter F is a capital letter)

Press Enter.

Copy/paste the output in your next message.

b. Do the same with the following three commands:

Code: Select all

rfkill list all
and:

Code: Select all

iwconfig
and:

Code: Select all

inxi -Nn
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:54 pm

Code: Select all

me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: me-HP-Notebook Kernel: 4.10.0-40-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: HP product: HP Notebook v: Type1ProductConfigId
           Mobo: HP model: 8207 v: 77.61 Bios: Insyde v: F.26 date: 06/01/2017
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-6100U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9216
           clock speeds: max: 2300 MHz 1: 406 MHz 2: 439 MHz 3: 420 MHz
           4: 417 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Sky Lake Integrated Graphics bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.07hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 520 (Skylake GT2)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-40-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: rtl8723be port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlo1 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (2.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 332G used: 11G (4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.47GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda9
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 38.5C mobo: 35.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 182 Uptime: 26 min Memory: 1091.6/7870.5MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ 


me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ rfkill list all
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
1: hci0: Bluetooth
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no

me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ iwconfig
wlo1      IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"hug2g544867"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:80:AE:AA:F8:4D   
          Bit Rate=72.2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=48/70  Signal level=-62 dBm  
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:6263   Missed beacon:0

enp1s0    no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions

me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ inxi -Nn
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: 30:e1:71:2e:39:45
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: rtl8723be
           IF: wlo1 state: up mac: 3c:95:09:8d:0a:f9
me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $
Last edited by Moem on Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Adding [code] tags. They retain some formatting that makes your output easier to read.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10985
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by Pjotr » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:12 pm

Make sure that your wireless network meets the following requirements:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... tywireless

And select the best channel:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... ify-signal
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:55 pm

I have 3 laptops running Linux Mint. The one in my office runs Cinnamon 18.1. It is an Acer laptop. Connects with the router even though it is at the opposite end of the house.

Another laptop is in the living room and running Cinnamon 17.3. It is a HP. It connects with the router from at least 10 meters away and from another room as the router.

Then there is this laptop. I put Mint Mate 18.2 on it. It is a HP. It will only connect to my router if within 2 meters

The network seems fine if my other computers will connect to it. And I have insured I do have the latest firmware running on the router.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:58 pm

Oh, and I also downloaded the app to my phone and have determined the best channels. But the router works in auto best.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10985
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by Pjotr » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:02 pm

Well, the requirements outlined in my previous message are valid in any case...

Worth a try: check whether HP has gone cheapo on you and connected only one antenna wire to your wifi chipset. If so, try whether a connector switch (the chipset has two of those) helps any. In some cases, that's an effective solution for a known problem.

A chipset with two antenna wires connected:
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... EBWifi.JPG
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:06 pm

If I had any clue how I probably would. I do know itt uses ant=2 and not ant=1.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10985
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by Pjotr » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:11 pm

dquinn618 wrote:If I had any clue how I probably would. I do know itt uses ant=2 and not ant=1.
That heightens my suspicion that HP wanted to save 50 cents (if not 10 cents) by putting just one antenna wire in your laptop. :(

You need to open the case. Often, the wifi chipset is easily accessible. If so, use a small pair of plyers or a knife to pull/pry the antenna wire loose and then click it on the other connector.

I've put a link to an image of a wifi chipset in my previous message.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:14 pm

( bet they did go cheapo, This thing cost about $380 at Staples. That's why I bought it. It also came with Win 10. Linux has a hard time with Epson printers. I have an Epson and can only print using Windows..

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:15 pm

Thanks

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8469
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by jimallyn » Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:01 pm

dquinn618 wrote:Linux has a hard time with Epson printers.
A lot of Linux users use Epson printers. Post the model number and what problems you are having in the Hardware Support, Printers & Scanners section of the forums. Somebody will almost certainly be able to help you.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:41 pm

Pjotr wrote:Well, the requirements outlined in my previous message are valid in any case...

Worth a try: check whether HP has gone cheapo on you and connected only one antenna wire to your wifi chipset. If so, try whether a connector switch (the chipset has two of those) helps any. In some cases, that's an effective solution for a known problem.

A chipset with two antenna wires connected:
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... EBWifi.JPG
Opening the back voids the warranty. Also, in that this is an ongoing and unresolved issue with that particular Realtek wifi adapter, in many different computer models not just this one, I suspect the issue is with the software not the hardware. But finally, and most significantly, the connection problem is only with Mint. I have Win 10 dual booted and it connects from anywhere in the house no problem.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10985
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by Pjotr » Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:45 pm

dquinn618 wrote:But finally, and most significantly, the connection problem is only with Mint. I have Win 10 dual booted and it connects from anywhere in the house no problem.
That's probably because the Windows driver has a better antenna selector in cases where only one antenna is present. It's a known problem with the Linux driver. Switching the connector does help to fix that problem.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:38 pm

I found this on github:

fixRTL8723BE

Some HP laptops with Realtek rtl8723be NICs having one antenna face problems connecting to WiFi. This repository provides an automated fix for the problem by installing the latest drivers provided by this repo and making the necessary configurations.
Installation

Just clone this repo. To clone, run:

git clone https://github.com/tarunbatra/fixRTL8723BE
Usage

cd to the project root
Run bash install.sh


So I ran it on the terminal. These are the results:

me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ git clone https://github.com/tarunbatra/fixRTL8723BE
Cloning into 'fixRTL8723BE'...
remote: Counting objects: 42, done.
remote: Total 42 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 42
Unpacking objects: 100% (42/42), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ cd
me@me-HP-Notebook ~ $ bash install.sh
bash: install.sh: No such file or directory




How do I install sh? Or is there something else I might do? I haven't taken off the back of the laptop as I am reluctant to void the warranty as there are other issues covered under warranty that I'm trying to get HP to honor. Such as the button to open the DVD door doesn't work. But HP wants me to box up and send in the entire computer instead of just sending me a new DVD player so I can replace it and send back the defective one. Anyway, can someone help with sh file issue?

dquinn618
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by dquinn618 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:50 am

Bump. No suggestions?

User avatar
greerd
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by greerd » Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:27 pm

dquinn618 wrote:Bump. No suggestions?
Well, you can manually test each antenna and set the one with the strongest signal to be default, see JeremyB's post from page 5 of this thread viewtopic.php?f=53&t=204172

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1734
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: sudo freshclam errored

Post by MrEen » Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:41 pm

I think your cd should have been cd fixRTL8723BE if I'm reading it correctly.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”