Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Kyowash
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:22 pm
Location: /dev/full

Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Kyowash » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:01 pm

I noticed Firefox 57 is using too much RAM (I chose to use just a single process), with 5-6 tabs opened it uses around 800MB of RAM. It's not relatively much keeping in mind I have 8GB, but it wasn't like that before. The worst thing is that even if I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount of memory as if they weren't closed. Am I the only one having this issue?

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22766
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by xenopeek » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:01 pm

I have 4 web content processes and together with the main Firefox process it is using about 1.4 GiB RAM with my extensions (about 13), typical use and configuration (no disk cache, only memory cache). The main Firefox process uses about 600 MiB of that and the 4 web content processes add up together to the other 800 MiB. It used to be about 1.6 GiB RAM before Firefox 57 so it's an improvement an my end. And it's faster as well.
Image

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6061
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Flemur » Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:02 pm

Kyowash wrote:I noticed Firefox 57 is using too much RAM (I chose to use just a single process), with 5-6 tabs opened it uses around 800MB of RAM. It's not relatively much keeping in mind I have 8GB, but it wasn't like that before. The worst thing is that even if I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount of memory as if they weren't closed. Am I the only one having this issue?
I dunno - I'm having considerably less memory use with FF 57 than (fairly recent) previous versions. (about 700M for 10 tabs open; chrome and such it's about 40% more).

One thing I noticed is that it uses a lot more memory with ublock than with umatrix - about 25% more, but don't quote me.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22766
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by xenopeek » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:50 am

You have to add the memory used by the "Web Content" processes. 700 MB sounds like only for the main Firefox process.
Image

mkb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:58 pm
Location: 14 miles west of Oxford in the Cotswold Hills - Cider with Rosie land.

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by mkb » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:22 pm

Kyowash wrote:I noticed Firefox 57 is using too much RAM (I chose to use just a single process), with 5-6 tabs opened it uses around 800MB of RAM. It's not relatively much keeping in mind I have 8GB, but it wasn't like that before. The worst thing is that even if I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount of memory as if they weren't closed. Am I the only one having this issue?
Indeed I am. Much faster but eats ram noticeably more and, yes, won't let.Grinds to a stop moment starts writing to swap. I've got terrible tabitis but wasn't this bad before.

Also facebook.com is a killer with 57 - I've started using Opera instead for this despite being another instance of an executable running... no idea why, I'm not a tekky..

I've been playing with number of ff processes running too...

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6061
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Flemur » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:24 pm

xenopeek wrote:You have to add the memory used by the "Web Content" processes. 700 MB sounds like only for the main Firefox process.
I'm using "free -m"

Edit:
Before FF:

Code: Select all

$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3951         144        2789           6        1017        3555
Swap:          1999           0        1999
Open FF with 10 tabs (ublock and umatrix are active):

Code: Select all

$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3951         716        2142          56        1092        2932
Swap:          1999           0        1999
Used: 716 - 144 = 572 MB difference.
Avail: 3555-2932 = 623 MB difference.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5719
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Spearmint2 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:51 am

Kyowash wrote:I noticed Firefox 57 is using too much RAM (I chose to use just a single process), with 5-6 tabs opened it uses around 800MB of RAM. It's not relatively much keeping in mind I have 8GB, but it wasn't like that before. The worst thing is that even if I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount of memory as if they weren't closed. Am I the only one having this issue?
Turn off autoplay in the about:config area and see if that improves FF57 for you. Stops videos from preloading in the background.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

User avatar
Kyowash
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:22 pm
Location: /dev/full

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Kyowash » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:59 pm

I decided to give exact numbers, so this is the RAM usage with YouTube, Google Drive and the Linux Mint Forums opened:
Image
And I'm sure this wasn't like that before.
Spearmint2 wrote:
Kyowash wrote:I noticed Firefox 57 is using too much RAM (I chose to use just a single process), with 5-6 tabs opened it uses around 800MB of RAM. It's not relatively much keeping in mind I have 8GB, but it wasn't like that before. The worst thing is that even if I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount of memory as if they weren't closed. Am I the only one having this issue?
Turn off autoplay in the about:config area and see if that improves FF57 for you. Stops videos from preloading in the background.
I don't use to have more than one tab with videos playing. Anyway I just use YouTube to listen to music. Is this going to be helpful?

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5719
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Spearmint2 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:58 pm

That looks normal to me.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

User avatar
Kyowash
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:22 pm
Location: /dev/full

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Kyowash » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:15 pm

Spearmint2 wrote:That looks normal to me.
Really? But like I said, the RAM usage doesn't decrease when I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount with just the start screen.

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5719
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Spearmint2 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:30 pm

Kyowash wrote:
Spearmint2 wrote:That looks normal to me.
Really? But like I said, the RAM usage doesn't decrease when I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount with just the start screen.
Maybe if you lower your cache size it will then drop it at a lower RAM usage. Default is either auto or 350MB.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

User avatar
Kyowash
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:22 pm
Location: /dev/full

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Kyowash » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:34 am

Spearmint2 wrote:
Kyowash wrote:
Spearmint2 wrote:That looks normal to me.
Really? But like I said, the RAM usage doesn't decrease when I close the tabs, it keeps using the same amount with just the start screen.
Maybe if you lower your cache size it will then drop it at a lower RAM usage. Default is either auto or 350MB.
Rarely if you delete the configuration it's 1024MB by default like in Ubuntu. I have it configured to stop at 250MB, it's one of the first things I change before using Firefox. So when I took the screenshot Firefox had already the 250MB limit.

User avatar
Minterator
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 am

Re: Firefox 57 is using too much RAM

Post by Minterator » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:26 am

SI1NAF~H.PNG
Mint 17.3 MATE, kernel 4.11.12

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”