Page 1 of 1

F-Spot not displaying full image

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 12:59 pm
by pdc_2
Just started using Linux Mint; I have some familiarity with linux; last week, F-Spot was displaying "full image" when selected;

now I get a black background, with a small stylised white centre piece, like a page turning ........... is this some sort of side-effect of compiz please? How can I disable this to use F-Spot?

I wonder if it was some update that I permitted to happen?

Re: F-Spot not displaying full image

Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 5:51 am
by Husse
Unfortunately Compiz has some strange side effects so turning it off may help you
Appearance > Visual Effects > None
When you are done select what you had before and you get compiz back

Re: F-Spot not displaying full image

Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 2:56 am
by pdc_2
thanks very much for this Husse: perplexed: when I follow your advice, I still get the same very stylised and structured screen: black background; stylised white centre-piece, like a book that is being opened; I tried twice to select Visual Effects > None and no change; (I confess to seeing compiz-switch mentioned when I did a google search last night, and confess to downloading and installing it; selecting that had no effect either; I have submitted a bug report to the Gnome team; after further suggestions welcome; for the first time, I have installed Picasa; and that is quite happy to give a full screen for photos; so F-Spot will have to be dormant for just a little longer till we get it sussed; best wishes

Re: F-Spot not displaying full image

Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 5:58 am
by Husse
So it was just Fspot and with Picas it works?
If so I consider it solved

Re: F-Spot not displaying full image

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 2:27 pm
by pdc_2
So it was just Fspot and with Picas it works?
If so I consider it solved
!!!!!!!!!

OK !

installed DigiKam

Posted: Mon May 25, 2009 3:15 am
by pdc_2
after F-Spot not displaying full screen images, I have installed digikam and it shows the images fine; (as did Picasa); so we will leave F-Spot on the backburner, and import into digikam; (not as pretty a programme, but it works)