change loaded kernel how to ?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
BobMacall
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:41 pm

change loaded kernel how to ?

Post by BobMacall » Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:42 pm

So, I went through a seemingly normal software update but now wifi doesn't work. One of the programs changed was the kernel.
I read elsewhere that update manager can be used to change this back but it doesn't seem possible on my Mint 17 system. When
I look at kernels from update manager -> view ->kernels it shows a loaded kernel (the new one) and another kernel (the old one) as installed.
But I don't seem to have the option to modify this. There is a remove button but it isn't active (greyed out) when I select the old kernel.
So, I want to make the old kernel as loaded. Does anyone have this figured out?
Thanks,
Bob

User avatar
Moem
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8997
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: change loaded kernel how to ?

Post by Moem » Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:50 pm

Choose a different kernel during boot. If you get a GRUB screen, that's easy because it shows a list of bootable kernels, and you'll understand how it works; if you don't, press and hold Shift during boot. That should get you to the GRUB screen.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 12885
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: change loaded kernel how to ?

Post by Pjotr » Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:53 pm

As Moem says. Old kernels are to be found under the "Advanced" section in the Grub bootloader menu.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

BobMacall
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:41 pm

Re: change loaded kernel how to ?[SOLVED}

Post by BobMacall » Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:42 am

I got it to work. But, hitting shift or esc during grub menu didn't do anything, no advanced menu. But
I noticed that a previous versions entry showed up in the menu. I didn't notice that before. Selecting that
gave me the option to go back to the old kernel.
Thanks,
Bob

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3242
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: change loaded kernel how to ?

Post by michael louwe » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:10 pm

@ BobMacall , .......
BobMacall wrote:...
.
You should also remove the problematic kernel.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”