Disable F1 key (help browser)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
joer4x4
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:54 am

Disable F1 key (help browser)

Post by joer4x4 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:10 am

How can the F1 key be disabled?
Hint - Keyboard shortcuts in the control panel does not work. It still works if I disable or reassign it. When I reassign it F1 and the assigned key works.

An FYI before you ask - I am creating a sizable business application and need F1 through F12.

Thanks!
JoeR

czeekaj
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:48 am

Re: Disable F1 key (help browser)

Post by czeekaj » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:38 am

I did in the Gui, I rebound it to something else.
Unless of course you want the key itself to have null input. I dunno if I can help you with that as I having trouble even binding mouse to keyboard.

I went keyboard options than shortcuts and changed every one so less standard short cuts besides ones like super E.
If you go into launchers I pretty sure that's where the F1 short cut was. Now I use a custom f1 + cntrl to run Firefox in firejail :D it does nothing else I don't think except on lock screen

joer4x4
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:54 am

Re: Disable F1 key (help browser)

Post by joer4x4 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:42 pm

Thanks for the input. Appreciate your time.
I'll keep fishing. I need to get it to the point where it will only work with my program when selected by the user.

Caltrop
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: Disable F1 key (help browser)

Post by Caltrop » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:24 pm

I am having similar issues.

F1 can not be disabled for help even if the keyboard shortcut is disabled.

Also in NCURSES coding the keyboard can not be fully intercepted. ie F1 key is still HELP.
I assume that other coding also can not intercept all of the function keys.

I am now having an issue where HELP no longer works when the F1 key is pressed or HELP is accessed via a menu.

joer4x4
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:54 am

Re: Disable F1 key (help browser)

Post by joer4x4 » Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:44 am

I can get at all the keys I need except the F1 key.
Why would that ever be done?
Why wouldn't the window in focus override it?

Glad I am not porting over code from unix or mainframe systems where the lower function keys were popular.

If I figure it out I will post here.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”