Helps about upgrade Kernel Mint 17.3 for Spectre and Meltdown

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
giorgio33

Helps about upgrade Kernel Mint 17.3 for Spectre and Meltdown

Post by giorgio33 »

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie. I am confused about the procedure to be followed for the Kernel update for Spectre and Meltdown
My system is as follows:

Processor: 4x Intel (R) Core (TM) i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Operating System: Linux Mint 17.3 Rose
Kernel: Linux 3.19.0-32-generic (x86_64).
Video driver: xserver-xorg - video-ATI (recommended).

I do not know if I have to upgrade to Kernel 4.4.0-109 or to 3.13.0-139. Opinions are conflicting. Some posts refer to the first solution, others to the second. I do not know then what the best solution is.
Also I did not understand if it should be done also the update of the Intel microcode. I have checked and no microcode is currently installed.
What should I do ?
Thanks in advance for the help!
ps .: all security and software updates have been applied up to level 3.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Helps about upgrade Kernel Mint 17.3 for Spectre and Meltdown

Post by Cosmo. »

An absolute answer is pitifully not possible. You might want to read, what I wrote just 1 hour ago regarding your question.
giorgio33

Post by giorgio33 »

Cosmo. wrote:An absolute answer is pitifully not possible. You might want to read, what I wrote just 1 hour ago regarding your question.
Thank you very much. That's what I was looking for! The information is so disseminated that it is difficult even to find them. I read his post immediately. Hope it can help me!
karlchen
Level 23
Level 23

Post by karlchen »

Hello, giorgio33.