[SOLVED] Cerebro search disappears on restart

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Ozo
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 765
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:49 am
Location: Titusville, Florida USA

[SOLVED] Cerebro search disappears on restart

Post by Ozo » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:40 pm

I load the Cerebro app from this link and it works great but after a restart it is no longer on the menu. How do I retain it? I can still click the Cerebro icon once (in Downloads) to put the small Cerebro icon on the panel and then the hot key works to toggle it and the search window appears and it works. However; Cerebro is not listed in the Menu Panel or the Main Menu.

Click to enlarge
https://cerebroapp.com/


Image
Last edited by Ozo on Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7771
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Cerebro search disappears on restart

Post by catweazel » Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:38 pm

Ozo wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:40 pm
Cerebro is not listed in the Menu Panel or the Main Menu.
Cerebro is delivered as an AppImage so you can simply use the menu editor to add an icon and link to the image.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
Ozo
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 765
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:49 am
Location: Titusville, Florida USA

Re: Cerebro search disappears on restart

Post by Ozo » Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:12 pm

catweazel wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:38 pm
Ozo wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:40 pm
Cerebro is not listed in the Menu Panel or the Main Menu.
Cerebro is delivered as an AppImage so you can simply use the menu editor to add an icon and link to the image.
That works great. I put the icon in favorites on the menu panel so it is very easy to get to. Thank you once again. :)

In the editor there is no option to add icon. It says add item and then browsing to the Cerebro file in downloads links it.

EDIT; No need to put it in Favorites. I named the new item CEREBRO in caps and it is very easy to see on the menu panel.
I have since reloaded my system and for a while Cerebro stayed on the Menu but once again it disappeared so I added it to the Menu using the "New Item" tip
Last edited by Ozo on Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7771
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Cerebro search disappears on restart

Post by catweazel » Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:22 pm

Ozo wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:12 pm
Thank you once again. :)
You're most welcome.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”