Is it possible to have more than one desktop environment as a choice at login?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Fiduggin67
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:57 am

Is it possible to have more than one desktop environment as a choice at login?

Post by Fiduggin67 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:17 pm

I tried this once before and installed the Mate-Desktop, hoping I would just have a choice of Desktops when I logged in. Instead, it created a real mess requiring a re-installation. Is there a specific instruction for this? I tried the instructions in this post

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=228850&hilit=deskt ... s+at+login

but it didn't work.

Appreciate any thoughts

Bob
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5749
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Is it possible to have more than one desktop environment as a choice at login?

Post by Spearmint2 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:57 pm

I'd create a new User and experiment with it. Add the new desktop, then remove the MATE. Maybe it will work. Most advise against trying to run two different desktops for a single user.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5667
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to have more than one desktop environment as a choice at login?

Post by administrollaattori » Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:54 pm

Yes. I have five different desktop environments under the same user. :wink:

User avatar
kc1di
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4787
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Is it possible to have more than one desktop environment as a choice at login?

Post by kc1di » Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:17 pm

yes it's possible. but not usually advised unless your experienced.
the problem is that many of the desktops will interact with each other. you can't use gnome and cinnamon on the same login , but xfce kde will work ok with cinnamon expect some interaction with programs and duplicate menu items on some desktops also. A better way is to try each desktop in the live version and see which one you like th best and best meets your needs. Then install that one.
Easy tips : https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17823
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Is it possible to have more than one desktop environment as a choice at login?

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:08 pm

Possible: Yes
Possibly a mess: Yes

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”