Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
babyblues409
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:14 pm
Location: The Lone Star State of Texas

Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by babyblues409 »

When will Firefox 59 be available in Mint?
Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17817
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Cosmo. »

Nobody (except those, who are responsible for this disaster) can answer this question. For a solution to end the security leak read here.
m7078
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:14 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by m7078 »

Why Linux Mint is not updating Firefox 59 ?

I'm glad i have another Arch based distribution which released update for both Firefox and Chromium.

I'll stop using Linux Mint until they release an update for Firefox 59.
User avatar
chrisuk
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:16 am

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by chrisuk »

If you look here you'll see that Mint isn't alone in being on an older Firefox version. Although I find it a bit odd that Mint 17 is on v59.01 and all other Mint versions are on v58.02... unless it's a typo/error.

(I can't check Mint or LMDE as I'm on neither ATM)
Chris

Manjaro MATE - MX Linux - LMDE MATE
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11970
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Moem »

Well, you can start using Mint again... the update arrived today.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Mattyboy »

Don't be so joyous just yet. Its killed my browser audio and apparently there won't be a fix until 60 is released. ( Mozilla's posted fix didn't work for me ).
User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8957
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by jimallyn »

Moem wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:31 pm
Well, you can start using Mint again... the update arrived today.
Umm, which update? I'm still on 58 in Mint 17.3 and haven't seen any 59 update in Update Manager.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11970
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Moem »

It did arrive for me today, but that probably depends on which mirror you're using.
And the audio doesn't worry me. I don't use FF anyway... :wink:
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6572
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by all41 »

It's here
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear smart until you hear what they are saying.
You will seldom see a grey-beard wearing a tinfoil hat.
User avatar
aurquiel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by aurquiel »

I have updated it but it didn't work in a properly way, it consumed 100% cpu working very slow and issue of display have been noticed too.

i have an average cpu and the previous version was working like a charm.

Code: Select all

-Computer-
Processor		: 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory		: 3946MB (3111MB used)
Operating System		: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
User Name		: void (void)
Date/Time		: Tue 20 Mar 2018 07:20:48 PM -04
-Display-
Resolution		: 1360x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer		: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Sandybridge Mobile 
X11 Vendor		: The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter		: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
-Input Devices-
 Lid Switch
 Power Button
 AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
 SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
 2.4G Wireless Keyboard&Mouse
 Video Bus
 2.4G Wireless Keyboard&Mouse
 Video Bus
 Sony Vaio Keys
 Sony Vaio Jogdial
 HDA Intel PCH Mic
 HDA Intel PCH Headphone
 HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm		: 3=
 USB2.0 Camera: USB2.0 Camera
-Printers-
No printers found
-SCSI Disks-
ATA ST9500325AS
TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633C
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13525
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by karlchen »

Hello, aurquiel.

Feel free to create a dedicated new thread about your issue. Might be helpful to post a screenshot which illustrates display issues.
Actually, I do not spot any change mentioned in the release notes, Firefox 59 release notes, which might cause any of the symptoms which you complain about.

Regards,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5310
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by AZgl1500 »

4.13.0-26-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia


works perfect here
FF 59.0.1.png
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Teksonik
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Teksonik »

I just got the 59.0.1 update here and everything seems to be working well. Web audio plays just fine and the diagonal screen tearing issue seems to be much improved. No high CPU or Memory usage. :)
Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Mattyboy »

Mattyboy wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:57 pm
Don't be so joyous just yet. Its killed my browser audio and apparently there won't be a fix until 60 is released. ( Mozilla's posted fix didn't work for me ).
I take it back.... works fine after a re-boot :oops:
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6572
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by all41 »

aurquiel wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:21 pm
I have updated it but it didn't work in a properly way, it consumed 100% cpu working very slow and issue of display have been noticed too.

i have an average cpu and the previous version was working like a charm.

Code: Select all

-Computer-
Processor		: 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory		: 3946MB (3111MB used)
Operating System		: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
User Name		: void (void)
Date/Time		: Tue 20 Mar 2018 07:20:48 PM -04
-Display-
Resolution		: 1360x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer		: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Sandybridge Mobile 
X11 Vendor		: The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter		: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
-Input Devices-
 Lid Switch
 Power Button
 AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
 SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
 2.4G Wireless Keyboard&Mouse
 Video Bus
 2.4G Wireless Keyboard&Mouse
 Video Bus
 Sony Vaio Keys
 Sony Vaio Jogdial
 HDA Intel PCH Mic
 HDA Intel PCH Headphone
 HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm		: 3=
 USB2.0 Camera: USB2.0 Camera
-Printers-
No printers found
-SCSI Disks-
ATA ST9500325AS
TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633C
@aurquiel
I also saw quite a bit of activity when starting the new FF browser. I think it is checking the add-ons for compatibility, updating the search engines, etc. At one point it opened 14 listening ports. But it all settled down after a minute or so. Maybe that is what you saw. Anyway now FF starts without a lot of i/o chit-chat.
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear smart until you hear what they are saying.
You will seldom see a grey-beard wearing a tinfoil hat.
babyblues409
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:14 pm
Location: The Lone Star State of Texas

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by babyblues409 »

Thanks!!!
I've installed it on two Dell laptops and it works like a champ, and MUCH FASTER!!
That's what I was waiting for.... :D !!!
Teksonik
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by Teksonik »

I spoke a little too soon about the Diagonal Screen Tearing issue with FF. It seemed to be better on my other Mint system but on this one is seems much worse. I'm typing this on Chromium and the tearing issue is not present. I've tried all the settings in FF 59.0.1 with no success...... :?

EDIT: Sadly Chromium has hard crashed twice in the last half hour....... :(
Last edited by Teksonik on Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5310
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by AZgl1500 »

Been using FF 59.0.1 very heavy for the last few hours, it is faster and no issues on my ASUS TP500L and
4.13.0-26-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
User avatar
aurquiel
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by aurquiel »

I don't know what happened but after the update FF was keeping always in restore session even after been closed normally and the amount of consumed resource was abnormal, i resolved it deleting my .moszulla folder in /home/myuser directory thanks god i have rsync in FF so i didn't lose anything, problem resolve.

I thing while it was updating i killed FF but i dont rememberer it very well.
ttjimera
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:47 pm

Re: Firefox 59...when will it be available?

Post by ttjimera »

Mattyboy wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:56 pm
Mattyboy wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:57 pm
Don't be so joyous just yet. Its killed my browser audio and apparently there won't be a fix until 60 is released. ( Mozilla's posted fix didn't work for me ).
I take it back.... works fine after a re-boot :oops:
In my case a reboot does not help. Instead I have to restart pulseaudio (go to terminal and issue command "pkill pulseaudio". Pulseaudio will automatically restart after that). But this needs to be done each time Firefox start up.It's not a big inconvenience for me though because I keep Firefox on all the time. But it still sucks to have to wait till FF60 for the fix.
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”