VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
trident
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 3:15 pm

VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Postby trident » Sun May 31, 2009 6:17 am

I've always preferred VLC to Totem and Mplayer, and am more used to it from when I used it in Windows, so one of the first things I did when I got Mint 7 working was to install it from the featured apps in MintInstall. However, it's behaving differently to on other distributions. When I load a video (.avi and .mpg), instead of having the video and controls in one window, I get a separate "XVideo Output" window with the video in, and the normal window only has the controls. So I end up with an MPlayer-style 2-window setup which I don't much like. Is this normal for the version in Gloria's MintInstall, or am I doing something wrong? I'm using fglrx (blech) and Compiz, although disabling desktop effects doesn't seem to make any difference.

fenny
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Postby fenny » Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 am

i have the same issue since updating to jaunty. there seems to be a bug with the embedded video window.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/314038

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3969
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Postby proxima_centauri » Sun May 31, 2009 8:47 am

It's been a bug in VLC for a while now. In the meantime i switched to SMplayer, which satisfies my movie playing needs - probably wont go back to VLC.

Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Postby Lantesh » Sun May 31, 2009 1:55 pm

I'll 2nd SMPlayer. The interface is much nicer, and easy to use. The only downside to SMPlayer is no support for DVD menus.

User avatar
trident
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 3:15 pm

Re: VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Postby trident » Sun May 31, 2009 2:01 pm

I tried it, and it looks nice, but crashes the computer in full screen mode. Then again, Xine, VLC and Totem all seem to do that too (and MPlayer/GNOME Mplayer won't even go full-screen properly) so I suspect another fglrx issue...

kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: VLC in Gloria has two windows?

Postby kei84 » Sun May 31, 2009 2:54 pm

About this VLC bug, it looks like it will only be fixed with the release of 1.0 version.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdamH and 8 guests