Font sizes [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Font sizes [SOLVED]

Post by riki » Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:37 pm

I am running 18.2 Mate 32 bit (Sylvia 18.3 is horrible, never had so many problems with other Linux OSs). Can somebody kindly tell me how to increase font sizes in menu bars on Firefox? I should be very grateful.
Last edited by riki on Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:24 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5881
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by administrollaattori » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:34 pm

https://support.mozilla.org/fi/questions/1186162
Global Zoom Factor

This will enlarge both the toolbar area and the content area:

(1) In a new tab, type or paste about:config in the address bar and press Enter. Click the button accepting the risk.

(2) In the filter box, type or paste pix and pause while the list is filtered

(3) Double-click layout.css.devPixelsPerPx and change its value to 1.25 and click OK, which corresponds to 125% font size in Windows display settings. The toolbar area should enlarge after a few moments. Too small? Try 1.5 and see whether that suits you better. And so on. If you are on Mac and use a Retina display, anything below 2.0 may be smaller than what you started with, so start with 2.0.

Important: Do not go below 1.0 because it may become too tiny to edit.

User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by riki » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:57 pm

administrollaattori wrote:
Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:34 pm
https://support.mozilla.org/fi/questions/1186162
Global Zoom Factor

This will enlarge both the toolbar area and the content area:

(1) In a new tab, type or paste about:config in the address bar and press Enter. Click the button accepting the risk.

(2) In the filter box, type or paste pix and pause while the list is filtered

(3) Double-click layout.css.devPixelsPerPx and change its value to 1.25 and click OK, which corresponds to 125% font size in Windows display settings. The toolbar area should enlarge after a few moments. Too small? Try 1.5 and see whether that suits you better. And so on. If you are on Mac and use a Retina display, anything below 2.0 may be smaller than what you started with, so start with 2.0.

Important: Do not go below 1.0 because it may become too tiny to edit.
Wow! Thanks a million!! The areas have enlarged significantly (1.50) although the fonts do not appear to have been altered. However, much better and I don't have to screw my eyes. Many thanks again.

User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by riki » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:58 am

Sorry...I'm in trouble again through my own fault. I tried to change back the size of menu bars with about:config (pix> layout.css.devPixelsPerPx) from 1.50 to 1.25 but I typed 1.35 instead and now Firefox won't open. Is it fixable? Thanks.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7069
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Font sizes

Post by Flemur » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:43 am

riki wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:58 am
Sorry...I'm in trouble again through my own fault. I tried to change back from 1.50 to 1.25 but I typed 1.35 instead and now Firefox won't open. Is it fixable? Thanks.
Firefox has a very primitive, user-hostile procedure to change the fonts - create, if it's not there, and edit the css file:

Code: Select all

~/.mozilla/firefox/profile.default/chrome/userChrome.css
FWIW - there's some selective font-changing going on near the end, you need to find out their name for the GUI component you want to change (that was the hardest part):

Code: Select all

/** Do not remove the @namespace line -- it's required for correct functioning **/
/* set default namespace to XUL */
@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");  

/* Change ALL the FF GUI fonts */
 *  {
    font-size:      10.5pt      !important;
#    font-family:    sans        !important;     /* */
    font:          "Liberation sans" !important;
    font-weight:    bold        !important;     /* */
    }

/* CHange TAB font and background color */
.tabbrowser-tab[fadein]:not([pinned])  {	min-width: 20px !important; }	/* ??? */
tab{	-moz-appearance: none !important;  }

/* Hide tab throbber and 'icon-image' (waste of space) */
.tabbrowser-tab 	  .tab-close-button 	{ display: none  !important; }	/* hide close button initially */
.tabbrowser-tab:hover .tab-close-button 	{ display: block !important; }	/* show close on hover */
.tabbrowser-tab 	  .tab-icon-image 		{ display: none  !important; }		/* */
.tabbrowser-tab 	  .tab-throbber 		{ display: none  !important; }		/* */
/* Hide tab throbber ... END */

/* change font on active tab */
tab[selected="true"] {						/* active */
	font-size: 		12px				!important;
	font-weight: 	bold  				!important;
	color: 			black  				!important;
}

tab:not([selected="true"]) {					/* inactive  */
	font-size: 		11px				!important;
	font-weight: 	bold 				!important;
	color: 			black				!important; 	
}
Edit: listing looks OK with tab=4 spaces.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 19.1 Xfce/fluxbox
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox

User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by riki » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:27 am

Thanks Flemur but your command doesn't work: "No such file or directory"

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7069
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Font sizes

Post by Flemur » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:41 am

riki wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:27 am
Thanks Flemur but your command doesn't work: "No such file or directory"
I didn't suggest a given command, but
create, if it's not there, and edit the css file:

Before making esoteric changes, I'd also make a backup of ~/.mozilla in case you mess up:

Code: Select all

cp -r ~/.mozilla ~/.mozilla.save
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 19.1 Xfce/fluxbox
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox

User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by riki » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:49 am

I appreciate your help Flemur but I am losing it...I was hoping that the task would be simpler...I'll keep trying. I have Firefox on two other machines so I haven't lost everything. Thanks again.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7069
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Font sizes

Post by Flemur » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:57 am

riki wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:49 am
I appreciate your help Flemur but I am losing it...I was hoping that the task would be simpler...
Oh, no, the task is extremely simple, but the method is a PITA.

With gedit (replace "gedit" with whatever editor you use)

Code: Select all

gedit ~/.mozilla/firefox/profile.default/chrome/userChrome.css
Go to that css code I showed you here, do "Select all" then "rt-click on it -> copy", then go back into gedit and paste all that code in, and then save the file. Restart firefox. See if anything looks different (You should have a smallish, bold font for all the GUI items). If you don't have the "Liberation" font installed (I think it is by default), use the commented-out line with "sans".
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 19.1 Xfce/fluxbox
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox

User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by riki » Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:18 pm

Thanks again Flemur. One thought: if I uninstall/reinstall Firefox, would it solve the problem? I would of course first backup my home files. On this machine I am running a dual partition with 18.3 and 18.2. 18.2 is the one with the Firefox issue. Is Pluma the editor of Mate? Never used it. I very rarely have problems...

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5881
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by administrollaattori » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:05 pm

riki wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:18 pm
Thanks again Flemur. One thought: if I uninstall/reinstall Firefox, would it solve the problem? I would of course first backup my home files. On this machine I am running a dual partition with 18.3 and 18.2. 18.2 is the one with the Firefox issue. Is Pluma the editor of Mate? Never used it. I very rarely have problems...
Reinstallation does not help, because config-files are in the ~/.mozilla folder. Rename .mozilla folder, so you get the default settings.

Code: Select all

mv .mozilla .mozilla.orig 
rm -r .cache/mozilla

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7069
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Font sizes

Post by Flemur » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:58 pm

administrollaattori wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:05 pm
Reinstallation does not help, because config-files are in the ~/.mozilla folder. Rename .mozilla folder, so you get the default settings.

Code: Select all

mv .mozilla .mozilla.orig 
rm -r .cache/mozilla
OP, if you do that "mv" instead of the "cp -r" you'll have to start firefox before editing the .css file so it can create a new .mozilla directory to put the file in.

Then, if you have any custom firefox stuff, like addons, saved passwords, etc., you'll have to save the copy (or mv) the .mozilla.orig back to .mozilla and re-do the changes to the userChrome.css file (or save that file outside of mozilla and copy it back to the new mozilla)

IOW, I think the "cp -r" is a lot easier than "mv" - after it's working you can just delete the .mozilla.save directory.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 19.1 Xfce/fluxbox
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox

User avatar
riki
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Font sizes

Post by riki » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:23 pm

I tried administrollaattori's commands and bingo it's all coming back. Many thanks to you both administrollaattori and Flemur...my headache is beginning to get better! Great stuff guys. Most appreciative.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”