Page 1 of 1

Problem with an update.

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:39 pm
by Advice Pro
Yesterday after I updated, these applications wouldn't open: Firefox, Chromium, and Update Manager.Where are Firefox bookmarks kept?

Linux Mint 18 Sarah

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:41 pm
by Cosmo.

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:35 pm
by TehBroZor
I am having this too! gufw is "gone" (asks for a password then nothing!) google-chrome just pretends to run then nothing, firefox will atleast throw a seg fault in syslog, network-manger gone/wont open, My friend is also running linux mint 18 and she has the same problem, network-manger gone, browsers won't launch, etc. This all happened overnight and the fact that it is happening to multiple of us suggests update gone wrong, right?

I tried booting into an older kernal (currently 4.4.0-116-generic x86_64)
I tried updating past the glitch

Code: Select all

sudo apt update && apt upgrade
I tried restarting network-manger via terminal (viewtopic.php?t=109823) (there was no error, so I guess its not gone)
I tried reinstalling network-manger (traffic comes in and out so wifi connects still and usb phone tether connects still)

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install network-manager --reinstall
(I also tried this with firefox, no go)
I tried reloading network-manger from recovery mode (https://askubuntu.com/questions/771627/ ... 841#771841)
I removed troublesome virtualbox updates that were causing login problems (viewtopic.php?f=90&t=266478) this wasn't my problem but after doing this update-manger "came back" (shows up in icon tray AND gui launches!)- not sure if its related

I am having trouble understanding how so many packages could be affected, I have learned a lot so far but am still new to troubleshooting/fixing myself. any help would be greatly appreciated. Why wont my web browsers launch? where is the 'network-manger'? gufw? What info would help diagnose this? Thank you for any and all help you may provide!!!

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:29 am
by smurphos
TehBroZor wrote:
Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:35 pm
I am having this too!
Follow Cosmo's link for the fix. It's the same underlying issue.

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:14 am
by Dlamont
Guys, I'm having this problem too. Only my WiFi is gone with it. No software or hardware block, it just refuses to go. I don't have a network cable handy (there is one in the garage) and I'm forced to use a Windows laptop... :x

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:15 am
by Moem
Borrow or buy a network cable (or get it from the garage). Next please... :wink:

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:40 am
by Dlamont
Why is that there is always a quick post which does not solve the problem, hmm?

It does not work with the cable either. Any solution to that one, Moem?

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:55 am
by Moem
Dlamont wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:40 am
Why is that there is always a quick post which does not solve the problem, hmm?
Because we're working with a lack of information. I don't know which commands will inform about network problems, but someone else is bound to tell you; in the meantime, can you post the outcome of the command inxi -Fxz for some basic information about your system? You can save it as a text file on a USB stick in order to paste it into your next message.

In your place, I'd still try to follow the instructions given here and see what happens after a reboot. You don't need an internet connection to run apt remove virtualbox-guest*.

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:44 pm
by TehBroZor
Cosmo, smurphos, et. al.,

Thank you! I have been able to use my machine since removing the faulty guest package for vb
You don't need an internet connection to run apt remove virtualbox-guest*

True dat! After running that I was connected again but couldnt tell or change any settings since i've exclusively been using the little icon from the panel. The 'network-manager' was not an option when trying to add it back on but network-manager wasn't gone:
sudo apt-get install network-manager
[sudo] password for kevin:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
network-manager is already the newest version (1.2.6-0ubuntu0.16.04.2).
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
itcl3 itk3 iwidgets4 libgsoap8 libtcl8.5 libtk8.5 tcl8.5 tk8.5
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
but could not be added back to panel. I could add a "network monitor" to my panel and it at least showed me packets moving in and out.
These were things I found while trying to get my network-manager set up way I had it before.
viewtopic.php?t=230759
https://askubuntu.com/questions/16584/h ... le_rich_qa
Still unable to use the old panel applet thing, hasn't prevented me from using the machine and so i'm pretty happy (not my thread, so I don't call anything SOLVED right?) gufw opens, my browsers all open, update manager, all except that one little tray thing, which means a different thread for a different day!
I also read there are other packages you can download that do all the things my network-manger screen did.

Hope this helps anyone else still struggling! Thank you everybody for helping me out!

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:04 am
by smurphos
TehBroZor wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:44 pm
Cosmo, smurphos, et. al.,

Thank you! I have been able to use my machine since removing the faulty guest package for vb
You don't need an internet connection to run apt remove virtualbox-guest*

True dat! After running that I was connected again but couldnt tell or change any settings since i've exclusively been using the little icon from the panel. The 'network-manager' was not an option when trying to add it back on but network-manager wasn't gone:
What's your Desktop Environment?

Re: Problem with an update.

Posted: Wed May 02, 2018 11:52 am
by TehBroZor
$ echo $DESKTOP_SESSION
mate