Transferring apps from old to new install

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
WHVW
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:31 pm

Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by WHVW » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:05 pm

Hi:

I'm trying to transfer programmes, etc. from an old to a new install.

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=268048

At first I had a little trouble with Thunderbird, but Cosmo solved that one, pronto. So, just use the same procedure for Play On Linux, right? Wrong. All kinds of errors.
O.K. why not use "Backup " ? no can do.
Allright: why not use "Kbackup"? Looks like it would work except it can't navigate to the other drive ( /dev/sdb). No problem; just follow the instructions Flemur gave me in:

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=261223 ,

which worked quite well. Oh, but wait: the drive needs a label, well, use "Gparted", no, drive is mounted. Try "umount": no, drive is unmounted according to "mtab". Mint Live disk? same result. Hold on, partner!...here's a couple of commands called "e2label" and "tune2fs"... and here comes the pièce de résistance!....

Code: Select all

2 ~ # e2label /dev/sdb5 "2"
e2label: Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/sdb5
Couldn't find valid filesystem superblock.
Bad "Magic Number"? Really? I got my first computer in 1982, and I have NEVER come up with anything quite like that..
Does this make sense to anyone? Or, was that the signpost up ahead and I'm in the (computer) Twilight Zone!

Later folks

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2006
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:29 pm

You will want to use an app called Aptik

it copies everything personal

Do NOT start Aptik until ready to go to bed. It is excruciatingly slow, it copies every preference setting that you have. It copies the name of every application installed after Mint has completed.

http://www.teejeetech.in/p/aptik.html

http://www.teejeetech.in/p/aptik.html

This website is the author's and it fully explains how to use the program.

Aptic is now in the Main Menu of Linux, I just finished having it run.

EDIT: apparently it is now is Software Manager

Image

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2006
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:53 pm

Rereading this:

I think why I see it in Software Manager is because I have added the repository for it.

so,


Installation
Ubuntu-based Distributions (Ubuntu, Linux Mint, etc)

Packages are available in the Launchpad PPA for supported Ubuntu releases. Run the following commands in a terminal window:

enter each line, one at a time: you will have to enter your password

Code: Select all

sudo apt-add-repository -y ppa:teejee2008/ppa

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install aptik
For older Ubuntu releases which have reached end-of-life, you can install Aptik from the DEB files linked below.

aptik-latest-i386.deb (32-bit)

aptik-latest-amd64.deb (64-bit)

ugly
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by ugly » Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:41 pm

What I do is every time I install a program and decide that I like it, I add the installation command(s) to a bash script.

I also periodically back up my Home folder.

Then when I do a new install, I just run the bash script, walk away, and let everything install.

When I copy my backed up Home folder, everything was like it was in the old install.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5919
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by Flemur » Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:59 pm

WHVW wrote:
Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:05 pm
No problem; just follow the instructions Flemur gave me in: ...which worked quite well.
I'm going to have that embroidered.
Oh, but wait: the drive needs a label, well, use "Gparted", no, drive is mounted.
Unmount it in gparted. It's either mounted or it's not, and it's either being used - so you can't unmount it - or it's not. I can always unmount my data partition or any USB drives - if they're not actively being used, IOW, no terminal or browser open there, etc.
e2label: Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open
Google that, in quotes. Is it a USB drive or not, you really don't give much info.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

WHVW
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:31 pm

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by WHVW » Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:02 pm

Hi: Lots of good words for Aptik...But does it back up and restore non-repository items?

Thanks

WHVW
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:31 pm

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by WHVW » Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:04 pm

Flemur: No, it's all hd's.

WHVW
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:31 pm

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by WHVW » Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:14 pm

Flemur:

Embroidered, eh? That's cool. Anyway, Gparted won't let me "deactivate" it, "with two logical volumes open". Hmmm.. this is not the boot drive, but the old install that is being (I hope ) transferred. It is dev/sdb, so I'm at a bit of a loss to explain what would be open and running.

thanks.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2006
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Transferring apps from old to new install

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:46 pm

WHVW wrote:
Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:02 pm
Hi: Lots of good words for Aptik...But does it back up and restore non-repository items?

Thanks
It will backup the settings for all the apps you have installed, folder settings, etc...

This pix does not show near all of my apps,


Image

you can click/drill down into each of the backed up folders for an app, and it gives a lot of info, directories, too much to post up here.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”