[SOLVED] Unable to run aptik as GUI

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3907
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

[SOLVED] Unable to run aptik as GUI

Post by deepakdeshp » Wed May 23, 2018 11:33 am

Hello,
I have installed aptik using theses commands

Code: Select all

sudo apt-add-repository -y ppa:teejee2008/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install aptik
I am not able to search it from application menu. From command mode

Code: Select all

aptik
just displays various flags and it quits.
Please let me know how to start the aptik gui mode.
I am running 64 bit Mint 18.3 Cinnamon and aptic version is 18
Last edited by Moem on Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked this as [SOLVED] for you; please note that you can and should do this for your own topics. Thanks!
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Unable to run aptik as GUI

Post by smurphos » Wed May 23, 2018 11:56 am

apt install aptik-gtk

The developer recently split the app into two packages.

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3907
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Unable to run aptik as GUI

Post by deepakdeshp » Wed May 23, 2018 12:48 pm

smurphos wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 11:56 am
apt install aptik-gtk

The developer recently split the app into two packages.
Thank you. That solved the problem.
I wanted to backup eclipse, which I have installed. But I dont see it listed anywhere in packages section though I have not filtered it.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Unable to run aptik as GUI

Post by smurphos » Thu May 24, 2018 1:42 am

Aptik basic package backup uses apt tools - it's effectively backing up a list of packages installed via apt tools (so packages installed with software manager, synaptic, apt-get, or installed via deb). It can also back up package files in the cache. It won't backup applications installed in other ways

You can (in the Expert view) add bash scripts to be backed up and executed on restore. I've not tried this but I see no reason that scripts for downloading and installing non apt/deb software couldn't be included in this section.

How was eclipse installed?

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3907
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Unable to run aptik as GUI

Post by deepakdeshp » Thu May 24, 2018 1:47 pm

smurphos wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 1:42 am
Aptik basic package backup uses apt tools - it's effectively backing up a list of packages installed via apt tools (so packages installed with software manager, synaptic, apt-get, or installed via deb). It can also back up package files in the cache. It won't backup applications installed in other ways

You can (in the Expert view) add bash scripts to be backed up and executed on restore. I've not tried this but I see no reason that scripts for downloading and installing non apt/deb software couldn't be included in this section.


How was eclipse installed?
Thank you for explaining how aptik works.

I installed eclipse by downloading the package from eclipse site
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
pcfan5
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:57 am
Location: antartica

Re: Unable to run aptik as GUI

Post by pcfan5 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:00 am

smurphos wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 11:56 am
apt install aptik-gtk
Thank you!!! issue solved. Gui interface is different now from what we can see in almost every tutorial/post.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”