Error installing Android studio flatpak [Solved]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
basilky
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 7:15 am

Error installing Android studio flatpak [Solved]

Post by basilky » Fri May 25, 2018 7:23 am

Gets the following error while installing Android studio flatpak using software manager.

Preparing "Install Google APIs Intel x86 Atom System Image (revision: 6)".
java.io.IOException: No space left on device
Warning: An error occurred while preparing SDK package Google APIs Intel x86 Atom System Image: No space left on device.
"Install Google APIs Intel x86 Atom System Image (revision: 6)" failed.
java.io.IOException: No space left on device
Warning: An error occurred while preparing SDK package Google APIs Intel x86 Atom System Image: No space left on device.

But my home partition has more than 400GB available.

But, after this, when I starts Android studio, No setup is shown to install the missing component and it starts normal. How can I install the missing package?
Last edited by basilky on Sat May 26, 2018 2:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Hoser Rob
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3831
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Error installing Android studio flatpak

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri May 25, 2018 8:30 am

A quick search of "linux android studio Install Google APIs Intel x86 Atom System Image" gives this:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/373 ... oid-studio

Search engines are a lot quicker than open source support forums.

User avatar
basilky
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Error installing Android studio flatpak

Post by basilky » Sat May 26, 2018 1:10 am

The flatpak version doesn't seems to use the /tmp location.This issue is already reported on flathub's github page.No fix till now.

User avatar
basilky
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 7:15 am

Re: Error installing Android studio flatpak[Solved]

Post by basilky » Sat May 26, 2018 2:48 am

Solved.
Created an empty tmp directory at my Desktop.
Added following line to beginning of /var/lib/flatpak/app/com.google.AndroidStudio/x86_64/stable/ae8409fa4c45a2b855782b9ac299beb23d73fd3af1e0cc42244b2f4e78fee53e/files/extra/bin/studio.sh

export _JAVA_OPTIONS=-Djava.io.tmpdir=/home/basil/Desktop/tmp

then I was able to install the missing component.
Modification in the studio.sh was removed after that.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”