Questions about applications and software
- Level 1
- Posts: 17
- Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:02 pm
I have a question about Timeshift, the snapshot backup piece of software. Does it save "packages state" ?
For exemple :
- I uninstall a package (let's call it 'X')
- I realise that uninstalling X have ruined my system...
- ... so I decide to "use" the snapshot I took
- Is X installed now, or it is uninstalled for good ?
- Level 6
- Posts: 1193
- Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm
Its my understanding that anything that was in a snapshot at the time is was created will be restored, that works both ways, anything you installed/edited in /root after it was created will be gone. ( top tip, keep a copy of any /root config files in /home that you may have edited yourself. )
- Level 6
- Posts: 1039
- Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:56 pm
- Location: Somewhere on the /LL0 scale
Timeshift will restore all files and folders to the state they were in at the time the snapshot was made, so if X was installed at that time, it will be installed after the restoration. All files and folders which had been added or modified as a result of installing X will be restored to the same state they were in before X was uninstalled, except for hidden configuration files and folders in your "home", if you did not tell TimeShift to save them.
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they ain't.