x11vnc and small desktop resolution

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Mechphisto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:49 am

x11vnc and small desktop resolution

Post by Mechphisto » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:56 pm

I'm using x11vnc server on one machine for months just fine. I let that box do a software update and reboot, and now I cannot get the server to display anything but 320x200. Just a little tiny box that squished the whole desktop into it.

My /lib/systemd/system/x11vnc.service doesn't have a -geometry or -scale value. So I set -geometry to 1024x768 -depth 8, and all I get is the same size of desktop but now in a window on my client that's 1024x768. It just increased the window, not the desktop resolution.

I have no idea what to try, and all I can search online just gives me the -geometry or -scale "fixes."
Open to any suggestions!
Thanks!

Mechphisto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:49 am

Re: x11vnc and small desktop resolution

Post by Mechphisto » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:13 pm

I did find one possible fix that suggested I install the 'dummy' xorg driver... which I did...
then edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf ...which I don't have! I don't seem to have an xorg.conf *facepalm*
So I found something else that said run "X -configure" so that I can then copy the conf file it creates into the /etc path... which I did, and I get:

Code: Select all

(EE) 
Fatal server error:
(EE) Server is already active for display 0
	If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
	and start again.
(EE) 
(EE) 
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support 
	 at http://wiki.x.org
 for help. 
(EE) 
*sigh*
This used to all work just fine. Wish I knew what package in the update screwed this all up for me :(

Mechphisto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:49 am

Re: x11vnc and small desktop resolution

Post by Mechphisto » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:43 pm

Well, not a fix, just a workaround... I found a monitor and plugged it in, rebooted and let the display come up, unplugged the monitor. Now my VNC works fine.
Luckily the box is in the same house. :/
I think the editing the X11 conf file to get the dummy resolutions would work... I just need to figure out where that file is or how to generate it :/

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4333
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: x11vnc and small desktop resolution

Post by Hoser Rob » Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:28 am

It miay help if you'd post useful system info, copy/paste this to the terminal and copy.paste the text output here:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”