Can't launch apps from menu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TPUSER
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:26 pm

Can't launch apps from menu

Post by TPUSER » Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:39 am

Hello!
After doing updates, I always got this message:
“Warning: No support for locale: en_US.UTF-8”.

I thought, no support for en_US? I am using Mint in the US!

I searched for a solution to this problem and ended up fixing it with these commands:
sudo locale-gen --purge --no-archive
sudo update-initramfs -u -t

Now, no programs will launch from the start menu. Apps start fine from a terminal.
What did I do to mess this up and how can I fix it?

Thank you. I'm running 18.3 with all updates.

User avatar
Moem
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6064
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by Moem » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:00 am

Hello, can you please post the result of the following terminal command, and enclose it in code tags? That's the button marked </>.
This is needed for pretty much any question about your system, so it's a good habit to post it straight away.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

TPUSER
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:26 pm

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by TPUSER » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:14 am

Code: Select all

optiplex@optiplex745 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: optiplex745 Kernel: 4.10.0-30-generic i686 (32 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: Dell product: OptiPlex 745
           Mobo: Dell model: 0WF810 Bios: Dell v: 2.6.6 date: 06/26/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium D (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 11960
           clock speeds: max: 3000 MHz 1: 3000 MHz 2: 3000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 82Q963/Q965 Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x1024@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 965Q x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-30-generic
Network:   Card: Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5754 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express
           driver: tg3 v: 3.137 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 95.7GB (36.6% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST3808110AS size: 80.0GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Cruzer_Glide size: 15.7GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 73G used: 32G (46%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.06GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 161 Uptime: 47 min Memory: 693.6/3960.9MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
optiplex@optiplex745 ~ $ 
Is this the correct procedure? Thank you very much.

TPUSER
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:26 pm

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by TPUSER » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:01 pm

If I go to 'favorites', the apps there will launch.

BTW, using Mate, 32 bit.

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 937
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by thx-1138 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:11 pm

...this is just a warning, ie. annoying to see, but not necessary to fix in the first place.
But anyway, now that this behavior happened, can you try:
sudo update-locale LANG=en_US.UTF-8

TPUSER
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:26 pm

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by TPUSER » Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:01 pm

This is my screen from the terminal command:
sudo update-locale LANG=en_US.UTF-8
sudo: unable to resolve host optiplex745
[sudo] password for optiplex:


Edit, still not working.

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 937
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by thx-1138 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:30 pm

"sudo: unable to resolve host" => that is probably a different issue altogether...

What does locale -a -v return?

If sudo update-locale LANG=en_US.UTF-8 doesn't fix it, try:
locale-gen en_US.UTF-8
dpkg-reconfigure locales

User avatar
Moem
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6064
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by Moem » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:06 pm

TPUSER wrote:
Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:14 am
Is this the correct procedure?
Perfect! That is going to be helpful.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

TPUSER
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:26 pm

Re: Can't launch apps from menu

Post by TPUSER » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:57 pm

Code: Select all

optiplex@optiplex745 ~ $ sudo locale-gen en_US.UTF-8
sudo: unable to resolve host optiplex745
[sudo] password for optiplex: 
Sorry, try again.
[sudo] password for optiplex: 
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  en_US.UTF-8... done
Generation complete.
optiplex@optiplex745 ~ $ sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
sudo: unable to resolve host optiplex745
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  en_AG.UTF-8... done
  en_AU.UTF-8... done
  en_BW.UTF-8... done
  en_CA.UTF-8... done
  en_DK.UTF-8... done
  en_GB.UTF-8... done
  en_HK.UTF-8... done
  en_IE.UTF-8... done
  en_IN.UTF-8... done
  en_NG.UTF-8... done
  en_NZ.UTF-8... done
  en_PH.UTF-8... done
  en_SG.UTF-8... done
  en_US.UTF-8... done
  en_ZA.UTF-8... done
  en_ZM.UTF-8... done
  en_ZW.UTF-8... done
Generation complete.
optiplex@optiplex745 ~ $ 

Edit...sorry, didn't work but thank you.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”