How can I track events during Shutdown?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3206
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:40 pm

My laptop is taking too long to shutdown,

I want to find out what is causing the delay.
Is there a log that I can read to find out what is happening?
Last edited by AZgl1500 on Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3206
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Slow to Power Off after a minor change

Post by AZgl1500 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:04 pm

I tried to use TOP in Terminal, but the shutdown process closed Terminal immediately.

What can I do to find out what is hanging up the shutdown process?


I just did a fresh install on a spare laptop, and it shuts down in less than 10 seconds.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3206
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by AZgl1500 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:52 pm

Anyone know how to find the log, or create a log for shutdown processes?

User avatar
Pierre
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8159
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by Pierre » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:30 pm

it would depend on the actual error:
For X-related errors, files of interest are:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

You may also find useful information about various errors (not only X) in:
/var/log/pm-powersave.log

Note: that some of these Files are a Binary Files & not a plain text file.
:(
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10126
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by JeremyB » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:38 am

Press ESC to be able to see what is happening when the Mint splat screen is displayed and you might spot the problem

gm10
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5977
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by gm10 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:51 am

This is usually due to systemd timing out stopping a specific service. The default timeout is 90 seconds (see /etc/systemd/system.conf). As JeremB said, looking at the shutdown activity as it scrolls by usually reveals the culprit. One common culprit is one of the cups daemons, for example.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3206
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by AZgl1500 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:10 am

Pierre wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:30 pm
it would depend on the actual error:
For X-related errors, files of interest are:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

You may also find useful information about various errors (not only X) in:
/var/log/pm-powersave.log

Note: that some of these Files are a Binary Files & not a plain text file.
:(
/var/log/Xorg.0.log is a text based log, useful to see what loads up.
and it reveals that Linux always looks to see what is available, noticed that it comments about a lot of stuff that did not exist on my machine.

/var/log/pm-powersave.log was not present in my machine, hmmm.

gm10
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5977
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by gm10 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:13 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:10 am
and it reveals that Linux always looks to see what is available, noticed that it comments about a lot of stuff that did not exist on my machine.
Because you don't have a xorg.conf, so it's trying to auto-detect your hardware (which is perfectly fine, you don't need a configuration file unless you need to set specific parameters).

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”