How can I track events during Shutdown?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2886
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:40 pm

My laptop is taking too long to shutdown,

I want to find out what is causing the delay.
Is there a log that I can read to find out what is happening?
Last edited by AZgl1500 on Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2886
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Slow to Power Off after a minor change

Post by AZgl1500 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:04 pm

I tried to use TOP in Terminal, but the shutdown process closed Terminal immediately.

What can I do to find out what is hanging up the shutdown process?


I just did a fresh install on a spare laptop, and it shuts down in less than 10 seconds.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2886
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by AZgl1500 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:52 pm

Anyone know how to find the log, or create a log for shutdown processes?

User avatar
Pierre
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7707
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by Pierre » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:30 pm

it would depend on the actual error:
For X-related errors, files of interest are:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

You may also find useful information about various errors (not only X) in:
/var/log/pm-powersave.log

Note: that some of these Files are a Binary Files & not a plain text file.
:(
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9478
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by JeremyB » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:38 am

Press ESC to be able to see what is happening when the Mint splat screen is displayed and you might spot the problem

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4719
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by gm10 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:51 am

This is usually due to systemd timing out stopping a specific service. The default timeout is 90 seconds (see /etc/systemd/system.conf). As JeremB said, looking at the shutdown activity as it scrolls by usually reveals the culprit. One common culprit is one of the cups daemons, for example.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2886
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by AZgl1500 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:10 am

Pierre wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:30 pm
it would depend on the actual error:
For X-related errors, files of interest are:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

You may also find useful information about various errors (not only X) in:
/var/log/pm-powersave.log

Note: that some of these Files are a Binary Files & not a plain text file.
:(
/var/log/Xorg.0.log is a text based log, useful to see what loads up.
and it reveals that Linux always looks to see what is available, noticed that it comments about a lot of stuff that did not exist on my machine.

/var/log/pm-powersave.log was not present in my machine, hmmm.

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4719
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How can I track events during Shutdown?

Post by gm10 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:13 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:10 am
and it reveals that Linux always looks to see what is available, noticed that it comments about a lot of stuff that did not exist on my machine.
Because you don't have a xorg.conf, so it's trying to auto-detect your hardware (which is perfectly fine, you don't need a configuration file unless you need to set specific parameters).

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”