Set WiNE to 16 Bits Software Mode

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Hopeless
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:48 pm

Set WiNE to 16 Bits Software Mode

Post by Hopeless » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:56 pm

Hello all, first of are sorry for my english. Okay now the question:

I whant try to make Resident Evil (1) to work under wine, on the wine website you can find some information about this game, is possible to make it work but you need to use/add /nocard1 /nocard2 to "argument"? In my case is not working, or i put this flag to the wrong place? Because the game always tell me he not find my device... and on the other report for this game, the guy say we need to set xwindows to 16bits, what is xwindow?

So i whant to know if is possible to say to wine to switch to 16 bits befaure launch the game, use the flag, for play the game and at the exit restore the original settings... sorry if i'm not clear, also i'm on linux only for a couple of weeks....

THANK YOU! :oops: :roll:

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2135
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Set WiNE to 16 Bits Software Mode

Post by trytip » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:01 am

EDIT
Last edited by trytip on Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:44 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Image

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4926
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: Set WiNE to 16 Bits Software Mode

Post by Mute Ant » Fri Jul 20, 2018 6:26 am

Xwindows is the Linux graphic system. The advice is suggesting you change your Mint OS display, before you run WINE, to use 16 bit-per-pixel colour graphics. Sometimes called high-colour...
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_color
...sometimes specified like...
1024 x 768 x 16
...for Width x Height x Depth.

Nothing to do with CPU and software 'bits'.
2018-10-13 Google designs 3-phase feed-forward to improve 2-phased governors with no sense of direction.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”