[Solved] Cannot use qbittorrent cuz transmission

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

[Solved] Cannot use qbittorrent cuz transmission

Post by Captain Brillo » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:37 pm

All of a sudden when I try to get a torrent, the default app is transmission, not qbittorrent.
even after I removed and purged transmission and made sure that qbittorrent is the default for torrents
what is going on?

This is one more hassle in a long string of issues with Mint lately.
Last edited by Captain Brillo on Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: Cannot use qbittorrent cuz transmission

Post by Captain Brillo » Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:12 pm

Well, now.

I just tried my other box; it has a clean, fresh install of Sylvia/Cinnamon on it too. Both boxes are on new disks.
Neither box can access torrents with qBittorrent. Or Deluge. Or anything but Transmission.
(Which has been "purged" from one box.)

I'm not happy here, cuz I don't understand.

Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: Cannot use qbittorrent cuz transmission

Post by Captain Brillo » Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:20 pm

And thanks to someone at LinuxQuestions, I discovered that in this new Mint installation multiple clients for transmission were installed.

Now solved.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”