Page 1 of 1

What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:40 am
by RamBurner
After Firefox's last update it opens in a smaller window and not maximized.
The command on the desktop shortcut is this; firefox %u
What needs to be in that area to open it maximized ?
Screenshot.png

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:01 am
by Flemur
RamBurner wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:40 am
After Firefox's last update it opens in a smaller window and not maximized.
The command on the desktop shortcut is this; firefox %u
What needs to be in that area to open it maximized ?
I open firefox maximized by putting

Code: Select all

[app] (name=Navigator) (class=Firefox) (role=browser)
  [Maximized]   {yes}
[end]
in my ~/.fluxbox/apps file, but if you're not using fluxbox it'll probably be more difficult.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:20 am
by RamBurner
I don't use fluxbox

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 4:34 pm
by AZgl1500
I just just simply put Firefox in the Startup Applications and it always comes up with the previous session exactly where I left it full screen.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:20 pm
by Schultz
RamBurner, what DE are you using? I've had a similar problem since FF version 55 (or thereabouts). It perplexes me because some users (such as AZgl1500) state that they don't have this problem. I use Mate and I wonder if this problem only exists in Mate. I also have the same problem with Basilisk.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:01 pm
by RamBurner
I'm on 18.3 Cinnamon 64-bit

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:21 pm
by AZgl1500
Schultz wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:20 pm
RamBurner, what DE are you using? I've had a similar problem since FF version 55 (or thereabouts). It perplexes me because some users (such as AZgl1500) state that they don't have this problem. I use Mate and I wonder if this problem only exists in Mate. I also have the same problem with Basilisk.
dum dum dum, of course I should have let all know which version it works perfectly in.

Cinnamon 3.6.7
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:47 pm
by RamBurner
I'll try putting it in the startup and see if it works for me.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:25 am
by RamBurner
Putting Firefox in the startup didn't work for me, it still opens with the small window.
I also tried turning off the non-tracking in Firefox as it was listed as starting the smaller window so it wouldn't give out the fingerprint.
That didn't work either.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:43 am
by Schultz
Assuming our problems are the same, the only way I found to solve this issue is to make the file xulstore.json (found in the profile folder) read only, once that file is set up to open FF maximized. But this solution may have unintended consequences.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:50 pm
by AZgl1500
It has been my experience that if you will make Firefox Maximized as you use it, and when you quit, that it will always restart in Maximized mode.

In every OS that I have used, that has been the case.

I make it a point to quit Linux Firefox with ^Q and then shutdown the machine.
as I said, I have FF in Startup and it always comes up full screen,
and it does so in every version of Linux that I have installed, which is about 5 right now.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 am
by boyo1991
do you close each tab before closing firefox?

if you do, this could be causing it, i just close firefox directly, and then it says it couldnt reopen my tabs, but its in fullscreen. alas, i use chrome now..

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:40 am
by gm10
Schultz wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:20 pm
RamBurner, what DE are you using? I've had a similar problem since FF version 55 (or thereabouts). It perplexes me because some users (such as AZgl1500) state that they don't have this problem. I use Mate and I wonder if this problem only exists in Mate. I also have the same problem with Basilisk.
Mint 19 MATE here, my FF starts maximized. It also doesn't have the issue below:
boyo1991 wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 am
do you close each tab before closing firefox?

if you do, this could be causing it, i just close firefox directly, and then it says it couldnt reopen my tabs, but its in fullscreen. alas, i use chrome now..
So I guess it's something about each of your settings. I don't know which ones. Maybe start over with a clean slate.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:12 am
by aes2011
@RamBurner, it's highly likely that your window manager will allow you to specify that a certain application, in this case Firefox, opens maximized each time (flemur's suggestion).

Or, try a new profile (gm10's suggestion).

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:14 am
by RamBurner
Yes, I'm at the point of uninstalling it and reinstalling it. It's a shame there is no command to put into the Properties window to open it maximized every time like there is in Windows.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:15 am
by boyo1991
So I guess it's something about each of your settings. I don't know which ones. Maybe start over with a clean slate.
To be fair, I'm not even against it, I don't pay it no mind, I just prefer chrome more now. I was just trying to say it might be something to try if he's closing each tab seperately.

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:25 am
by aes2011
RamBurner wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:14 am
Yes, I'm at the point of uninstalling it and reinstalling it. It's a shame there is no command to put into the Properties window to open it maximized every time like there is in Windows.
"uninstalling it and reinstalling it" won't affect the contents of ~/.mozilla. You may want to look at support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/profile-manager-create-and-remove-firefox-profiles

Re: What is cmd to have Firefox open maximized?

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:07 pm
by AZgl1500
boyo1991 wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 am
do you close each tab before closing firefox?

if you do, this could be causing it, i just close firefox directly, and then it says it couldnt reopen my tabs, but its in fullscreen. alas, i use chrome now..
Nope!
I sure don't, that would destroy my work plan.

I leave all the tabs open, and ^Q to close it out, and shutdown the pc

when I boot the pc back up, FF is in Startup, and it comes up Full Screen with all the tabs in place.