How do I install Libre Office 6.1?[SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
MurphCID
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:29 pm

How do I install Libre Office 6.1?[SOLVED]

Post by MurphCID » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:20 pm

I downloaded the .deb, and am not sure how to install it over the 6.0.3 that is currently installed. Also the Flatpack keeps having errors and cannot install on 19.0. Help please.
Last edited by MurphCID on Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7044
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by catweazel » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:35 pm

MurphCID wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:20 pm
I downloaded the .deb, and am not sure how to install it over the 6.0.3 that is currently installed.
Your best course of action, I think, is to add the LibreOffice PPA (https://launchpad.net/~libreoffice/+archive/ubuntu/ppa) and wait for it to appear there. Currently the PPA has 6.0.6.2 for Bionic. By waiting for the PPA to deliver the new version you help ensure the stability of your system.
MurphCID wrote:Also the Flatpack keeps having errors and cannot install on 19.0. Help please.
If you don't state what the errors and symptoms are, all anyone can do is agree that you keep having errors and can't install it.
Caution: Dancing Wu Li Master and Official curmudgeon-in-chief

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by ajgringo619 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:38 pm

What's the issue with the flatpak install? I did this and it seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

flatpak install flathub org.libreoffice.LibreOffice
Installing in system:
org.libreoffice.LibreOffice/x86_64/stable        flathub 304eb32e6666
  permissions: ipc, network, pulseaudio, wayland, x11, dri
  file access: host, xdg-run/dconf
  dbus access: ca.desrt.dconf, org.gtk.vfs.*
  dbus ownership: org.libreoffice.LibreOfficeIpc0
org.libreoffice.LibreOffice.Locale/x86_64/stable flathub 924157b3b009
Is this ok [y/n]: y
Installing: org.libreoffice.LibreOffice/x86_64/stable from flathub
[####################] 6 delta parts, 96 loose fetched; 213747 KiB transferred i
Now at 304eb32e6666.
Installing: org.libreoffice.LibreOffice.Locale/x86_64/stable from flathub
[####################] 10 metadata, 71 content objects fetched; 1013 KiB transfe
Now at 924157b3b009.
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-34-generic, Nvidia 396.54/GeForce GTX 960]
Image

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by ajgringo619 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:14 pm

I just tested the installation on a Mint VM. Installing 6.1 will NOT update the current programs, so you'll either need to live with both or remove the old one by hand. I agree with catweazel - if you can't get the flatpak to work, then use the PPA. At least you'll get any new updates applied without having to do anything extra.
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-34-generic, Nvidia 396.54/GeForce GTX 960]
Image

User avatar
MurphCID
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:29 pm

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by MurphCID » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:18 pm

Thanks All, I will wait for 6.1 to hit the mint downloads. I just saw all the goodness of 6.1 on DistroTube, and had a weak moment of want.

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by ajgringo619 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:21 pm

MurphCID wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:18 pm
Thanks All, I will wait for 6.1 to hit the mint downloads. I just saw all the goodness of 6.1 on DistroTube, and had a weak moment of want.
Probably for the best, although I'm still curious why the flatpak version wouldn't install. My first experience with flatpak was on Mint 18.3 and LibreOffice 6.0 (Mint was still on 5.1.6, I believe).
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-34-generic, Nvidia 396.54/GeForce GTX 960]
Image

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by BenTrabetere » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:06 am

MurphCID wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:18 pm
Thanks All, I will wait for 6.1 to hit the mint downloads. I just saw all the goodness of 6.1 on DistroTube, and had a weak moment of want.
Have you considered the AppImage?

I started using the Basic+Help AppImage on Friday, and it has not given me any problems. The file is LibreOffice-6.1.0.help-x86_64.AppImage, and you can download it from https://libreoffice.soluzioniopen.com/i ... /stable-2/.

Download, make executable, run.

aes2011
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by aes2011 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:58 am

BenTrabetere wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:06 am

Have you considered the AppImage?

I started using the Basic+Help AppImage on Friday, and it has not given me any problems. The file is LibreOffice-6.1.0.help-x86_64.AppImage, and you can download it from https://libreoffice.soluzioniopen.com/i ... /stable-2/.

Download, make executable, run.
I'm using https://libreoffice.soluzioniopen.com/s ... 4.AppImage. As stated, it works fine!

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: How do I install Libre Office 6.1?

Post by BenTrabetere » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:43 am

aes2011 wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:58 am
I'm using https://libreoffice.soluzioniopen.com/s ... 4.AppImage. As stated, it works fine!
The only issue I have with this (and too many of the other LO AppImage offerings) is the filename does not contain any version information. This might be okay if update tools could be used to update the AppImage, but LO would need to embed the update information ... which it does not.

If I am not mistaken, LibreOffice-6.1.0-x86_64.AppImage and LibreOffice-6.1.0.help-x86_64.AppImage are identical to LibreOffice-fresh.basic-x86_64.AppImage and LibreOffice-fresh.basic.help-x86_64.AppImage. The filesize is the same, and cmp and diff do not report any differences.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”