Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
chebaev
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:31 am

Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by chebaev » Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:37 am

Hello!

I have strange problem with VLC Player and qBittorrent. From some days the menus in the programs was broken. They works normal but, ist not possible to read the text in the menus. I use Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon (64-bit).

Does anyone have any idea how to fix the problem?
Attachments
Screenshot from 2018-08-13 15-36-14.png
Screenshot from 2018-08-13 15-35-26.png

User avatar
Valsodar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:30 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by Valsodar » Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:40 am

Looks like you have reduced the font size. Go to Menu --> Settings --> Fonts, see which font was set to a number lower than 8 and change it to a more normal value.
AsRock B85M Pro4, Core i3-4170, Palit GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, Corsair CX750 PSU, Corsair 32GB DDR3-1600, Corsair Force LE 120GB, WD Caviar Blue + Green = 1.5TB, Firefox 61.0.1 x64, Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, kr 4.13.0-45

chebaev
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:31 am

Re: Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by chebaev » Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:59 am

I try to change the value, but the problem is the same. Now the font settings are like that
Attachments
Screenshot from 2018-08-13 16-58-45.png

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2051
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by trytip » Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:20 am

install qt5ct and try gtk2 style
Image

sgtor
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by sgtor » Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:38 am

I'll also throw this in for vlc. Every once in a while the vlc interface goes wonky. While vlc still looks right you need to make a backup copy of
/home/yourusername/.config/vlc/vlc-qt-interface.conf

put it into a directory named .backups in your home directory.

then put this simple cp command into a tiny script named fix-vlc. put it in ~/bin

Code: Select all

cp /home/yourusername/.backups/vlc-qt-interface.conf /home/yourusername/.config/vlc/
then run this command

Code: Select all

chmod 744 /home/yourusername/bin/fix-vlc
now whenever it goes wonky you can just run.

Code: Select all

fix-vlc
It won't mess with your settings, those are in vlcrc.
It will cause it to forget the placeholder you were in for a movie though.

I once figured out what to change in the file to fix it but for me this is just faster and acceptable.
I forget now what it was to be changed but obviously it kept the time placeholder for the movie.

edit:
forgot to put /bin in the directory structure

Chrispy_Cracker
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:33 pm

Re: Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by Chrispy_Cracker » Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:58 pm

I have the "No drop Down Menus" problem and looking for answers too.

chebaev
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:31 am

Re: Problem with the menus in VLC and qBittorrent

Post by chebaev » Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:36 am

I found realy strange solution. I have two outputs from my video card. First is my primary monitor and second i use external output to TV. When i change second monitor to be duplicate like first everything with VLC Player and qBittorrent is OK. After that i manage second monitor to be external and again is OK everything.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”