Why is Bleachbit removing 700 MB on Mint 19?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Jturl

Why is Bleachbit removing 700 MB on Mint 19?

Post by Jturl »

Hi, As a newbie I was wondering if I could ask a question about Bleachbit in relation to Tara Mint 19. I have used it on Mint 17.1 on a regular basis and the average disk space retrieved was about 25 to 35MB. But since using Tara the disk space showing now is upwards of 700Mb. Which seems a lot to even my novice status.
Any thoughts? Appreciate any comments.
James
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Schultz
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Why is Bleachbit removing 700 MB on Mint 19?

Post by Schultz »

Are you sure you're using the same settings in Bleachbit in Mint 19 that you did in 17.1?
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19

Post by jimallyn »

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan
lmuserx4849

Post by lmuserx4849 »

There are a host of Linux system built-in services being run or can be run on users' behalf, when it is safe, to keep things going (i.e., /etc/logrotate.d, /etc/cron*, systemd-tmpfiles-clean).

- Do not use BleachBit, by Martin Flöser
- BleachBit: Does GNU/Linux need the equivalent of a Windows registry cleaner? @lwn.net
trytip
Level 14
Level 14

Post by trytip »

next time you use it look and see in which category the size is. most likely everything is in your .cache
is it the bleachbit as root or bleach regular you asking about.

ps: nothing wrong with using bleachbit.
Last edited by xenopeek on Fri May 03, 2019 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: political comment removed
lmuserx4849

Post by lmuserx4849 »