<SOLVED> Odd behavior with previously created Libre Office Impress presentations

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bearzlos
Level 2
Level 2

<SOLVED> Odd behavior with previously created Libre Office Impress presentations

Post by bearzlos »

Hello. I'm brand new to Mint (using Mint 19) but have used Libre Office Impress for several years with SuSE. Now I'm having a problem that's just got me baffled and I've not been able to find anyone who has described a similar problem in these forums or in Google.

I've copied my presentations to the new computer. They play just fine in Mint 19, including videos I had imbedded in the existing presentations. But I cannot edit the slides. Though I try clicking in the text in the slides I never get a flashing "line" cursor that allows editing. All I see is what looks like a hand, or maybe it's a fist?

Interestingly the text I had written into the "Notes" boxes below the slides can be edited. It's just the text and pictures within the slides that cannot.

For a test I created a new slide, added some text and inserted a picture, and then saved it. When I reopened the test slide I could get into it and edit both the text and the picture.

So it's only my previously created Impress presentations that will not edit within the slides -- only the "Notes" below the slides.

I'm guessing there is probably a setting somewhere that I need to tick or untick. The solution is probably so simple I'll kick myself once realized, but for now I'm just stuck. :?

Is there any console output I can provide that might help?

Thanks for your wisdom.
bearzlos
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
richyrich

Re: Odd behavior with previously created Libre Office Impress presentations