motion CCTV

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
raywoods

motion CCTV

Post by raywoods »

I've been using motion for my CCTV at home for many years now, without any problems. Earlier this week, after coming home from a week away, I found the system had stopped working. It looks like we've been "upgraded" to a new version. I've gone to the MAN pages and found a new list of commands/attributes to use but, for me the program no longer works. Using Cheese I can see the webcams are okay but motion appears not to find them, except for a blued out reflection of me in the widow!

I'm using an HP Webcam HD 2300 into a USB and registering on /dev/video0

Is anyone else having this problem, or any ideas what is amiss?

If the worst comes to the worse, is there a way to go back to an earlier version?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Flemur
Level 20
Level 20

Re: motion CCTV

Post by Flemur »

raywoods wrote: Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:12 pmIf the worst comes to the worse, is there a way to go back to an earlier version?
There are various versions here, with .deb files, which is nice:
https://github.com/Motion-Project/motion/releases

OR -
You could try
gksudo synaptic -> find "motion" ; menu -> package -> force version

Edit - you also might try deleting (or better, renaming) your config files for 'motion' (probably under your $HOME), so the new version has a fresh start.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
raywoods

Post by raywoods »

Thanks Flemur. I'll persevere a bit longer and if all else fails it's nice you can just roll back in time. :)

I'll let you know how I get on.
raywoods

Post by raywoods »