[SOLVED] I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
majpooper
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:56 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

[SOLVED] I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by majpooper » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:41 pm

I did a fresh install of mint 19 Cinnamon on my Lennovo T430 and got all the tweaks etc done.
Everything seemed OK but for some reason FF started crashing. I tried removing it completely and re-installing but that did not work so I did a really bad thing . . . I removed the FF folder from the mozilla dir in my home dir and tried re-installing FF yet again. I tried apt purge, auto remove, autoclean, update and who knows what else (the proverbial monkey with a machine gun approach) but still can not do an install of FF that works - all I get is an empty instance of FF - meaning the page (window) will come up put everything inside is completely blank.

Any ideas how to FF back working again.
Last edited by majpooper on Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pbear
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 596
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by pbear » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:56 am

Do you have a Timeshift snapshot from before you started uninstalling and reinstalling FF? If so, restoring that snapshot should do the trick. In your situation (and most, as far as I can tell), there's no reason to reinstall Grub, so I'd unselect that option when doing the restore. If you didn't take the Timeshift snapshot, reinstalling the OS (and redoing the tweeks) probably will be faster and easier than fixing this one.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
Running Mate 18.3 64 bit (by upgrade from 18.1-2)

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7756
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by catweazel » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:16 am

majpooper wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:41 pm
all I get is an empty instance of FF - meaning the page (window) will come up put everything inside is completely blank.
Image

If it's not borked beyond all repair, switch that off.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by Flemur » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:20 pm

Try this - it solved two mysterious FF issues for me and can't hurt anything:

Code: Select all

rm -r ~/.cache/mozilla
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by trytip » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:06 pm

well first you need to figure out what's broke. apt install firefox and then open in Terminal firefox what are the 2 outputs?
Image

User avatar
majpooper
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:56 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by majpooper » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:50 pm

Flemur wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:20 pm
Try this - it solved two mysterious FF issues for me and can't hurt anything:

Code: Select all

rm -r ~/.cache/mozilla
Holy sh . . . . uhhh Cow! that did it -just like that.
THX much Flemur

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by Flemur » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:02 pm

majpooper wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:50 pm

Code: Select all

rm -r ~/.cache/mozilla
Holy sh . . . . uhhh Cow! that did it -just like that.
THX much Flemur
Great! I think it's strange that it rarely ever gets mentioned, especially since it's harmless.

I chased a bug for at least a day before trying that...
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: [SOLVED] I jacked up firefox . . . really bad

Post by trytip » Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:47 am

i don't see why .cache folder isn't cleared as it is with the /tmp folder when system starts. lot's of issues can be solved by removing temporary files . i see my friends and family using internet browsers and never clearing history,cookies,cache for months or years at a time. that's just bad practice for performance and a security risk, especially in windows if you don't have adequate internet tracking block.
you should open .cache folder delete everything in it then log OFF/ON at least once a day
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”