[SOLVED] A software similar to Paragon Partition Magic to clone a OS image to restore in case of system failure?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Ataraxic
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] A software similar to Paragon Partition Magic to clone a OS image to restore in case of system failure?

Post by Ataraxic »

Hello,

I am new to Linux Mint and the forum, so I hope to do / have done things correctly.

First I'll start by saying that I searched my question beforehand but I can't find exactly what I need OR the option seems to be very delicate and only for experienced users. In my current inexperience I rather avoid doing very complicated terminal operations using fstab or dd as I am afraid to fully break what I have instead of making a secure backup copy.

Here's what I want. In Windows I used Paragon Partition Manager Suite to create a Backup Image of my OS so I can always go back to the exact copy of my freshly installed OS and not be afraid of having to untangle things once I made an atrocity. The Backup image would be saved on an external HDD and it would be accessible through a Boot CD (made with the same Paragon Partition Suite). The Boot CD took me to a graphical environment very similar to GParted and allowed me to browse through my different Restore Images (Similar to browsing through System Recovery or Time Shift) and finally copy/overwrite my saved System's Image on top of my messed up System.

This was very practical because I always had a fresh install set up and ready to go that could be restored in 10 minutes.