Firefox freezes my computer

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Firefox freezes my computer

Post by borgward » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:48 pm

all41 wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:58 am
open your /home directory and press Ctrl+h to show the hidden files.
Navigate to the .mozilla directory and temporarily rename it as .mozilla.old.
No .mozilla in /home. I opened File System to find:

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/firefox-addons/extensions/langpack-en-CA@firefox.mozilla.org.xpi
/usr/lib/firefox-addons/extensions/langpack-en-GB@firefox.mozilla.org.xpi
/usr/lib/firefox-addons/extensions/langpack-en-ZA@firefox.mozilla.org.xpi
/usr/lib/thunderbird/extensions/langpack-en-GB@thunderbird.mozilla.org.xpi
/usr/share/mime/application/vnd.mozilla.xul+xml.xml

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: tom-Inspiron-1520120 Kernel: 4.4.0-138-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) Distro: Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Machine:   System: Dell (portable) product: Inspiron 1520
           Mobo: Dell model: 0KY767 Bios: Dell v: A09 date: 07/11/2008
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium Dual T2370 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 6914
           clock speeds: max: 1733 MHz 1: 1333 MHz 2: 1733 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x800@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 965GM GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-138-generic
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX driver: b44 v: 2.0 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: wl bus-ID: 0c:00.0
           IF: wlp12s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 750.2GB (31.9% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST9750420AS size: 750.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 28G used: 14G (51%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-2: /home size: 657G used: 206G (34%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 62.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 184 Uptime: 1 day Memory: 2726.0/3942.0MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
all41 wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:58 am
When you restart Firefox it will recreate a default set of config files (a new .mozilla directory )
Then retry Firefox. If all good there then you know that your config is at fault
The freezing began slightly after several FF updates ago. After the last update the processor runs at 100% while downloading from some of the usual websites I go to.

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11501
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by karlchen » Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:07 pm

Hello, borgward.
borgward wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:48 pm
No .mozilla in /home.
The location had been given in an unprecise way to you.
/home is the directory where your personal home directory is located as a sub-directory of /home.
Your personal home directory will be /home/borgward. (If we assume your Linux account is borgward like your forums nickname.)
As a consequence the full pathname to the sub-directory .mozilla is /home/borgward/.mozilla
A convenient short form of writing this is $HOME/.mozilla, whereby $HOME is a user specific environment variable which expands to /home/borgward in your case, to /home/karl in my case.

The location, which you had identified, /usr/lib/firefox-addons/extensions/, is absolutely unrelated to any Firefox freeze issues, because as can be seen, this location only holds the Firefox language files.
The locations, where your plugins and extensions can be found, are all inside your Firefox profile, which is the sub-folder tree $HOME/.mozilla. You can learn the details in Firefox itself, by going to about:plugins.

Best regards,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:15 pm

Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) Distro: Linux Mint 18 Sarah
No .mozilla in /home.
Your original install of Sarah came with Firefox and would have created that directory.
What happened to it?
If the directory doesn't exist then FF will create it at first use.
Are you sure you are viewing the hidden files by pressing Ctrl and h simultaneously?

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by borgward » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:27 pm

I found .mozilla at /home/me.

Reamed .mozilla .mozilla.old. restarted FF. Processor is still flat lining at 100%, but not for so long at some of the pages I have been visiting.

I lost all my many book marks BOO! Would be good to warn that bookmarks and settings, will be lost so they might be saved.

Can I move bookmarks from .mozilla.old to .mozilla? How

Is it possible to revert to FF version that worked on this computer? I know some things might not work, but willing to give it a try

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:48 pm

karlchen is absolutely correct regarding file location--my bad
The location had been given in an unprecise way to you.
/home is the directory where your personal home directory is located as a sub-directory of /home.
Your personal home directory will be /home/borgward. (If we assume your Linux account is borgward like your forums nickname.)
Just delete the newly created .mozilla directory and rename the original file (now named .mozilla.old) to .mozilla and all your bookmarks and cusomizations will return.
Since you are still having issues with a fresh profile the profile question mark is now answered

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by borgward » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:01 pm

Deleting .mozilla, renaming .mozilla.old to .mozilla worked. I now have my bookmarks and settings back. Thanks. Now what to do? revert to older FF version? Everything tanked after the last FF update via mint updates. Is google the problem? I usually use DuckDuckgo.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:20 pm

Firstly--make a backup of that .mozilla directory. I would choose a safe location on a usb stick if your
bookmarks and customizations are all important.
You will need to rename this copy as mozilla backup or something
without the leading period. The leading period ids the file as hidden.

Make sure FF is the culprit though. Boot into your installation usb/dvd into the live desktop and try those same
websites while booted there. If all good there, then boot back into your installed Mint.
Make a temporary new user using 'Users and Groups' from the menu. Log out and log back in as the new user.
Try the same sites as a new user.
New users get a fresh set of configuration files. That will answer additional question marks.
Report your findings and additional questions here.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:27 pm

borgward wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:01 pm
Deleting .mozilla, renaming .mozilla.old to .mozilla worked. I now have my bookmarks and settings back. Thanks. Now what to do? revert to older FF version? Everything tanked after the last FF update via mint updates. Is google the problem? I usually use DuckDuckgo.
You should not revert to an older version of FF--the version is not your problem--older versions of FF are not secure.

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by borgward » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:56 pm

I understand the security issue. That said, why did the system start having problems after the latest FF update. Something wrong w/the update, or FF? As I said, things really tanked after the last FF update.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:39 pm

borgward wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:56 pm
I understand the security issue. That said, why did the system start having problems after the latest FF update. Something wrong w/the update, or FF? As I said, things really tanked after the last FF update.
Impossible to know at this point. It is however possible other coincidental issues developed that are not FF related.
Sometimes updates get the blame in these cases, sometimes wrongly--and that will lead you down the wrong path
of troubleshooting.

Continue to erase question marks to find the remaining answer. Have you tried a new user yet?

There are no problems with FF 63.0 on my systems

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by borgward » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:24 pm

New user, about the same. Hard to tell in detail, will set up NoScript and uBlock Origin on it. I just started an old machine that has FF 58.0.2 on it. Added NoScript and uBlock Origin. The pages that were giving me trouble are not so bad. CPU use will bounce up to 100% briefly, but then will go back to about 25%. Hard to compare. the old machine has faster CPU but is 32 bit.
Mint 18.0 32 bit
Cinnamon 3.0.7
Kernel 4.4.0-116-generic
Intel T2500 @ 2.o GHz x 2
NVIDIA G70M [GeForce Go 7800]

I have thought about putting in a faster CPU in the system I have been using, but wonder if the bus will handle the performance of the faster CPU. The NVIDIA graphics is not available for my mobo. It has soldered into the mobo of the alternative mobo for the Inspiron 1520.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:42 pm

I'm beginning to think FF is not your problem.
Try a different browser such as 'Palemoon' available from this link:
http://linux.palemoon.org/datastore/rel ... 64.tar.bz2
for the 64 bit or:
http://linux.palemoon.org/datastore/rel ... 86.tar.bz2
for 32 bit.
After the file downloads just right click the file and choose 'Extract here'.
This will make a self contained stand-alone directory (folder) and does not need any installation or dependencies.
Open that directory and click on the palemoon file to start the browser. Test how that browser works for you.
When you are through with it you can just right-click the directory and choose delete, or better yet keep it somewhere for testing purposes.
Having a second browser is good for this sort of thing, especially since it takes no resources other than the filespace.
Have you booted to a live desktop yet?

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by borgward » Sun Nov 04, 2018 8:16 pm

I just booted another HDD in the machine that I have been having trouble with. It has Mint 18.0, 64bit, Cinnamon 3.0.7, kernel 4.4.0-116 generic, FF 58.0.2 64bit, NoScript and uBlock Origin. When I go to some pages like YouTube CPU bounces to 100% briefly but then goes down to below 25%

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5706
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by all41 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:59 pm

Did you make a swap partition and is it active?
in a terminal type:

Code: Select all

swapon
and read the results.
btw I also use Ublock origin and NoScript FF extensions--not a problem

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes computers!

Post by borgward » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:11 am

swapon
NAME TYPE SIZE USED PRIO
/dev/sda6 partition 3.7G 0B -1

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9714
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Firefox freezes my computer

Post by Moem » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:34 am

Mod note:
Split off from this topic. Please do not piggyback on existing questions. Thanks!
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes my computer

Post by borgward » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:23 am

I do not believe I am piggybacking on Firefox Freezes my Computer. I was responding to the previous question about swap in relation to FF. What do you mean by piggybacking?

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9714
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Firefox freezes my computer

Post by Moem » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:27 am

I mean: asking a question in a thread that someone else has started to ask their question. In this case, the question is rather similar, but it's still a bad idea (and against forum rules) because you probably do not have the exact system (both software and hardware) as the person who posted the topic. They were talking about THEIR Firefox freezing on THEIR machine... not yours. So the answers you get (or need) may differ from the answers they get. And that is why we have that rule.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes my computer

Post by borgward » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:43 am

In other words I should have started a new topic? Will do.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3300
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Firefox freezes my computer

Post by michael louwe » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:59 am

borgward wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 8:16 pm
I just booted another HDD in the machine that I have been having trouble with. It has Mint 18.0, 64bit, Cinnamon 3.0.7, kernel 4.4.0-116 generic, FF 58.0.2 64bit, NoScript and uBlock Origin. When I go to some pages like YouTube CPU bounces to 100% briefly but then goes down to below 25%
.
.
Have you block or filter Coin-miners from the Firefox browser.?

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”