Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
gwi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:20 pm

Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by gwi » Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:04 am

Hello,

After upgrading to Mint 19 Tara (Cinnamon edition), Digikam is not working properly. In many albums the thumbnails are empty. They are there, I can click on them and see the stars and other buttons (see attached image). I can also open the context menu. But when I try to open the image using the context menu, the options are limited, as if the image is not recognised. A slide show only shows completely black images. The number of images is correctly shown.

This all happens with raw and JPG images, in a lot of albums. But some albums are shown correctly: the images in the thumbnails are visible. Whether the album is shown correctly or not, the slide show is completely black, and I can not open images from the context menu. I can place an image on the light table if it is shown in the thumbnail. If it isn't shown in the thumbnail, it shows up black in the light table.

If I look in the album directories, the image files are there, they are readable and I can open them with GIMP.
I have rebuilt the thumbnails and cleaned the database several times, without success.

Digikam version is 5.6.0, KDE Frameworks 5.44.0, Qt 5.9.5.
Linux Mint 19 Tara, running kernel 4.15.0-38-generic.

What is causing the problem here, and how can it be solved?
Attachments
correct-thumbnails.png
Correct thumbnails
missing-thumbnail.png
Missing thumbnails
missing-thumbnail.png (5.86 KiB) Viewed 244 times
Regards,

George

Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64-bit, Asus Vanguard B85, Intel Core i7 4770S

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7525
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by phd21 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:28 pm

Hi gwi,

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

Did you upgrade to Linux Mint 19 or did you do a fresh install? When going from one major version to another (like from 18.x to 19.x) it is best to do a fresh install.

DigiKam also has an AppImage installation option which may work well for you. You can save the file, give yourself permission to run it, then double-click it to run it, or install the AppImage Launcher utility - see below.

digiKam - Download
https://www.digikam.org/download/

FYI: Easily Run And Integrate AppImage Files With AppImageLauncher - use the "Bionic" deb file for Linux Mint 19.x
https://www.linuxuprising.com/2018/04/e ... files.html

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

gwi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by gwi » Fri Nov 23, 2018 5:35 am

I doubt if the hardware or USB devices are causing this problem, as I don't have any other problems. My computer running is solid and stable. Here are the results of the commands you asked for. I will try to uninstall and reinstall Digikam before trying the AppImage installation. (I will first try to get some idea what AppImage is.)

Code: Select all

~$ inxi -Fxzd
System:    Host: saturnus Kernel: 4.15.0-39-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop System: ASUS product: All Series serial: N/A
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: VANGUARD B85 v: Rev 1.xx serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 2202 date: 04/01/2015
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-4770S (-MT-MCP-) arch: Haswell rev.3 cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 24743
           clock speeds: max: 3900 MHz 1: 1474 MHz 2: 1610 MHz 3: 1638 MHz 4: 1724 MHz 5: 1399 MHz 6: 1564 MHz
           7: 1765 MHz 8: 1401 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 2560x1440@59.95hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Desktop version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-39-generic
Network:   Card: Intel Ethernet Connection I217-V driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f080 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 480.1GB (29.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Crucial_CT480M50 size: 480.1GB
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 model: TSST CDDVDW SH-S223F rev: SB02 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
           Features: speed: 48x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition: ID-1: / size: 7.8G used: 1.8G (25%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: /usr size: 20G used: 9.4G (51%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-3: /opt size: 9.8G used: 679M (8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7
           ID-4: /var size: 9.8G used: 2.5G (28%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-5: /boot size: 976M used: 421M (47%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-6: /home size: 197G used: 87G (47%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-7: swap-1 size: 34.36GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda9
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 239 Uptime: 17 min Memory: 1476.9/32040.8MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56

Code: Select all

~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:8000 Intel Corp. 
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:8008 Intel Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 174c:3074 ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1074 SuperSpeed hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 056a:00b9 Wacom Co., Ltd Intuos4 6x9
Bus 003 Device 005: ID 045e:001d Microsoft Corp. Natural Keyboard Pro
Bus 003 Device 003: ID 045e:001c Microsoft Corp. Internet Keyboard Pro
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 174c:2074 ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1074 High-Speed hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Regards,

George

Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64-bit, Asus Vanguard B85, Intel Core i7 4770S

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7525
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by phd21 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 1:25 pm

HI gwi,

I do not see anything wrong with the results of the "inxi -Fxzd" console terminal command, so that is a good thing.

"DigiKam" uses a database to store data about all your images, and it could be that needs to be refreshed or recreated. Under "Tools" on the toolbar is a maintenance option that you might try running.

You do not need to remove DigiKam that has been installed from the Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager (SPM) to also use their AppImage. I already gave you links before on downloading the DigiKam AppImage and a link to an "AppImage Launcher" helper application.

How To Use AppImage in Linux [Complete Guide] | It's FOSS
https://itsfoss.com/use-appimage-linux/

Hope this helps ...
.
DigiKam_Maintenance1.jpg
DigiKam Maintenance
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

gwi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by gwi » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:20 am

I have done the maintenance several times, without success.

I tried the Digikam AppImage, without success. For the images where the installed Digikam 5.6.0 shows nothing (just a blue rectangle when I click on it), the AppImage version shows the file type (like JPG), and a gray thumbnail. But just like with the installed version, I can not use the context menu to open the image in Gimp. Gimp does not recognise the file. For images that are shown with a correct thumbnail, I can use the context menu to open the file in Gimp.

When I browse to the file in Nemo, and then select open in Gimp, the file is opened in Gimp. It doesn't look corrupt in any way.

Hundreds of images are affected, hundreds of images are not. In both cases it can be raw, JPG or TIFF files.
Regards,

George

Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64-bit, Asus Vanguard B85, Intel Core i7 4770S

User avatar
MrEen
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by MrEen » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:43 pm

Could it be a permissions issue for the affected albums?

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7525
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Digikam problems after upgrade to Mint 19

Post by phd21 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:59 pm

Hi gwi,

My DigiKam installed version is 5.9 and the AppImage is also 5.9. They are recommending using the AppImage.

You can try installing the "kde-runtime" from the Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager (SPM) if that is not already installed, then restarting your computer and retrying DigiKam.

I am using KDE so it is working well for me.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”