Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3869
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:51 am

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:45 am
MrGrimm wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:19 pm
JerryF wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:20 am
Where did you specify the Backup location for Aptik?
MrGrimm's Docs/Backups/Mint Backups/Aptik 11242018
Apologies if I'm in error, but it looks to me like you're doing a backup of your home directory, to a location WITHIN your home directory. It's never going to finish, as it's backing up the backups backup...

I think you'll need to add MrGrimm's Docs/Backups/Mint Backups/ to the exclude list.
Thanks for that, but I already checked to see if Aptik does that, and it doesn't.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrEen » Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:52 am

JerryF wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:51 am
Thanks for that, but I already checked to see if Aptik does that, and it doesn't.
Gotcha.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:56 pm

yea it just dawned on me when i was out having a smoke that we were looking at this just a bit on the wrong side. we thought it was trying to back up the mounts and their content, when it looks like it's actually looking at the folders under home and thinking the content is actually there, so when it goes to backup the home folder it's also trying to back up the contents of those folders. we were at least on the right track, so there's that. that to me is a bug in aptik not a issue with my install after all. one really good thing did come out of this so far, and that is all the crap in the fstab is now gone thanks to you.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:01 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:45 am
MrGrimm wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:19 pm
JerryF wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:20 am


Where did you specify the Backup location for Aptik?
MrGrimm's Docs/Backups/Mint Backups/Aptik 11242018
Apologies if I'm in error, but it looks to me like you're doing a backup of your home directory, to a location WITHIN your home directory. It's never going to finish, as it's backing up the backups backup...

I think you'll need to add MrGrimm's Docs/Backups/Mint Backups/ to the exclude list.
no that's not the case, it's pointed to /mrgrimm's docs/backups/mint backups/aptik 11242018 which is it's own partition on a separate drive. i keep nothing on my os drive that i can't afford to lose, but thanks for the post cause it's a good point for others to keep in mind.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrEen » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:14 pm

I realize you're both telling me this is not the case, but I just want to be certain (for your sake only) that it is indeed true. Hopefully, you'll see why I keep trying to hammer this home:
it's pointed to /mrgrimm's docs/backups/mint backups/aptik 11242018 which is it's own partition on a separate drive
From your fstab:
/dev/disk/by-uuid/cfff7c49-02a9-4f91-ac48-941895fb329b /home/mc2635599/MrGrimm's\040Docs...
I'll let this go now.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:21 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:14 pm
I realize you're both telling me this is not the case, but I just want to be certain (for your sake only) that it is indeed true. Hopefully, you'll see why I keep trying to hammer this home:
it's pointed to /mrgrimm's docs/backups/mint backups/aptik 11242018 which is it's own partition on a separate drive
From your fstab:
/dev/disk/by-uuid/cfff7c49-02a9-4f91-ac48-941895fb329b /home/mc2635599/MrGrimm's\040Docs...
I'll let this go now.
did you ever read my one post? i don't think so, cause if you had you'd see i believe i see what aptik is doing. instead of pointing out what we already suspect how about telling us where you see a place to add exceptions, cause i've never noticed that. cause if i'm right and i exempt those folders aptik should do it's backup in under an hour, and when restored should create the mount folders before changing the default mount points. thanks
Last edited by MrGrimm on Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrEen » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:26 pm

WOW. Good luck.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3869
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:48 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:14 pm
I realize you're both telling me this is not the case, but I just want to be certain (for your sake only) that it is indeed true. Hopefully, you'll see why I keep trying to hammer this home:
it's pointed to /mrgrimm's docs/backups/mint backups/aptik 11242018 which is it's own partition on a separate drive
From your fstab:
/dev/disk/by-uuid/cfff7c49-02a9-4f91-ac48-941895fb329b /home/mc2635599/MrGrimm's\040Docs...
I'll let this go now.
Yes, the folder data.tar.gzdoes show in the backup, but doesn't contain an actual backup. Aptik knows not to do a backup of itself.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:49 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:26 pm
WOW. Good luck.
WOW i wasn't the one who posted without reading. what you're doing is simply trolling. i asked a MORE than fair question, cause it sure looked like you didn't even read my post.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:52 pm

JerryF wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:48 pm
MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:14 pm
I realize you're both telling me this is not the case, but I just want to be certain (for your sake only) that it is indeed true. Hopefully, you'll see why I keep trying to hammer this home:
it's pointed to /mrgrimm's docs/backups/mint backups/aptik 11242018 which is it's own partition on a separate drive
From your fstab:
/dev/disk/by-uuid/cfff7c49-02a9-4f91-ac48-941895fb329b /home/mc2635599/MrGrimm's\040Docs...
I'll let this go now.
Yes, the folder data.tar.gzdoes show in the backup, but doesn't contain an actual backup. Aptik knows not to do a backup of itself.
since the one can't be bothered to do anything but just troll the forum is there a place to exclude files or folders in aptik, so i can test out if i'm right or not. thanks

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrEen » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:57 pm

You really don't deserve this, but from the manual:
You can specify a text file with names of additional files and directories to be excluded from backup. For example, aptik --backup-home --exclude-from 'exclude.txt'

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3869
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:02 pm

MrGrimm wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:56 pm
yea it just dawned on me when i was out having a smoke that we were looking at this just a bit on the wrong side. we thought it was trying to back up the mounts and their content,
...
Nope, I had already mentioned that in a previous post:
JerryF wrote:Also, just wondering if you think that the content of your mounted partitions in the "Mounts" section is being backed up. That's not what that section does. It only creates a small text file of the mounts (just like the fstab file).
In the Mounts section, only the mount information (fstab) is getting backed up, not their contents.
.
MrGrimm wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:56 pm
...when it looks like it's actually looking at the folders under home and thinking the content is actually there, so when it goes to backup the home folder it's also trying to back up the contents of those folders.
.
The Home section (whether in Easy or Advanced Mode) is going to copy the content of /home/mc2635599.
I thought that was your objective---to backup the content of anything under /home/mc2635599?
.
MrGrimm wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:56 pm
...we were at least on the right track, so there's that. that to me is a bug in aptik not a issue with my install after all. one really good thing did come out of this so far, and that is all the crap in the fstab is now gone thanks to you.
No bug there, Aptik is doing what it's supposed to do. If you want your /home/mc2635599 contents backed up, keep it checked.
If you don't want it backed up, uncheck it.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:03 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:57 pm
You really don't deserve this, but from the manual:
You can specify a text file with names of additional files and directories to be excluded from backup. For example, aptik --backup-home --exclude-from 'exclude.txt'
thank you, but i'm not the one who didn't bother to read through the thread. i'm not the one in the wrong here.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3869
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:04 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:57 pm
You really don't deserve this, but from the manual:
You can specify a text file with names of additional files and directories to be excluded from backup. For example, aptik --backup-home --exclude-from 'exclude.txt'
This is not necessary in this case. I ran a test of Aptik, placing the backup file on the same hard drive as the drive that's being backed up. Aptik doesn't backup it own backup file.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:10 pm

jerryf, yes if aptik believes the data on the other drives is actually in the mount folders in /home and is trying to back it up then it is a bug, cause aptik isn't seeing that all that data isn't actually in home just links to it.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrEen » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:11 pm

JerryF wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:04 pm
MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:57 pm
You really don't deserve this, but from the manual:
You can specify a text file with names of additional files and directories to be excluded from backup. For example, aptik --backup-home --exclude-from 'exclude.txt'
This is not necessary in this case. I ran a test of Aptik, placing the backup file on the same hard drive as the drive that's being backed up. Aptik doesn't backup it own backup file.
Okay. Thanks.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3869
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:36 pm

MrGrimm wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:10 pm
jerryf, yes if aptik believes the data on the other drives is actually in the mount folders in /home and is trying to back it up then it is a bug, cause aptik isn't seeing that all that data isn't actually in home just links to it.
As you already know, any partition can be mounted under /home/mc2635599. The reason for doing this would be that a user would want those mounted partitions to be included in your user home, so you can easily access those partitions as being under home.

Or be included in any backup of the user's home directory.

If you don't want them to be backed up, then you'll need to mount them as something else.

I'd suggest creating a new folder such as "CombinedPartitions" (easier to omit spaces for fstab file) in /home, making sure it's not under /home/mc2635599. You'll need to do this as root.
Change the owner of that folder to you with:

Code: Select all

sudo chown -R mc2635599:mc2635599 '/home/CombinedPartitions'
Then edit /etc/fstab and replace it with this:

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda2 during installation
UUID=d387f897-7fe2-4d4b-8dbe-a7a26dcbada0 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# /boot/efi was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=B8A0-96AB  /boot/efi       vfat    umask=0077      0       1
/swapfile                                 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/c03c47ac-b166-4376-92ac-e0351ff67ebd /home/CombinedPartitions/Movies ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/d8bbf5a8-627f-4299-b6d4-b13d5237238c /home/CombinedPartitions/AAC's ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/5be0667d-4040-4dbb-bc7c-ff008f8c8d58 /home/CombinedPartitions/Movie\040Series ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/bd76a63a-fd65-489b-a580-622588a365f6 /home/CombinedPartitions/Music\040Vids ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/f111b601-ebdf-4618-a23c-f76f5399cb21 /home/CombinedPartitions/TV\040Specials ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/3739a080-3748-485c-94d1-2b3303469c8a /home/CombinedPartitions/XXX ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/9c4ac4ef-d0db-4e2c-8eb0-473ddb1c9648 /home/CombinedPartitions/Downloads\040-\040Torrents ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/cfff7c49-02a9-4f91-ac48-941895fb329b /home/CombinedPartitions/MrGrimm's\040Docs ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/2b422f15-2060-45c8-b97a-a8eb9f65c47b /home/CombinedPartitions/TV\040Series ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST2000LM007-1R8174_WDZ48RZD-part9 /mnt/ata-ST2000LM007-1R8174_WDZ48RZD-part9 EXT4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-id/usb-Kingston_DataTraveler_3.0_F46D0461E255F131F94C01D5-0:0-part1 /mnt/usb-Kingston_DataTraveler_3.0_F46D0461E255F131F94C01D5-0:0-part1 ext4 nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
You'll have to reboot so that the partitions get mounted in the new folder.

Then in Aptik, if it shows up, you can deselect CombinedPartitions in the Home section of Aptik.

***Edited***
Last edited by JerryF on Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:08 pm

that sounds easy easy enough, even if i wasn't using aptik i like the idea of all those folders being in one folder by themselves. thanks

a couple of threads you may want to look at;

https://github.com/teejee2008/aptik/issues/7

https://github.com/teejee2008/aptik/issues/19

now with the one command am i still going to have to use sudo chown mc2635599:mc2635599 "/home/mc2635599/Combined_Partitions/SUBFOLDER NAME" -R" for the remounts?

on a side note i changed the mount points based on advice from a member on the plex forums and on linuxquestion.org. i'm wonder if it would of been better know what i do now to leave the mount points in media and use that command there and in the sub folders there? cause i would think that would allowed plex to see the data in those folders.
Last edited by MrGrimm on Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3869
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:43 pm

MrGrimm wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:16 pm
now with the one command am i still going to have to use sudo chown mc2635599:mc2635599 "/home/mc2635599/Combined_Partitions/SUBFOLDER NAME" -R" for the remounts?
With that setup, you're going to have the same problem. As I said in the previous post, don't place Combined_Partitions under /home/mc2635599 if you don't want that content to be backed up if you do a backup in Aptik's Home section.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

MrGrimm
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:13 am

Re: Cannot Complete A Full Aptik Backup In Mint Cinnamon

Post by MrGrimm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:47 pm

JerryF wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:43 pm
MrGrimm wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:16 pm
now with the one command am i still going to have to use sudo chown mc2635599:mc2635599 "/home/mc2635599/Combined_Partitions/SUBFOLDER NAME" -R" for the remounts?
With that setup, you're going to have the same problem. As I said in the previous post, don't place Combined_Partitions under /home/mc2635599 if you don't want that content to be backed up if you do a backup in Aptik's Home section.

o.k. sorry i missed not putting it under /home. please reread my previous post and let me know if i'm on the right track. also i saw somewhere if the fstab file is deleted it will be recreated on the next boot. if so after redoing the mounts would it be quicker and more accurate to just delete fstab and reboot? thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”