Installing GTK

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
progproj

Installing GTK

Post by progproj »

I am a Linux newbie. I am running Mint and I want to develop GTK programs using C. I will need both GTK+2.0 and 3.0 to link to.
I am not sure if GTK is installed on my system. I have the headers but I don't see either the .c files or the object files.

I am completely new to Linux and I am not sure if every Linux install off the Debain branch already comes with GTK source and binaries installed or not. using locate I am able to find the .h files but scouring my computer, I don't find the .c or the binaries.

Issuing pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0 at the command line, I get back the following:

-pthread -I/usr/include/gtk-2.0 -I/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/gtk-2.0/include -I/usr/include/gio-unix-2.0/ -I/usr/include/cairo -I/usr/include/pango-1.0 -I/usr/include/atk-1.0 -I/usr/include/cairo -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/libpng12 -I/usr/include/gdk-pixbuf-2.0 -I/usr/include/libpng12 -I/usr/include/pango-1.0 -I/usr/include/harfbuzz -I/usr/include/pango-1.0 -I/usr/include/glib-2.0 -I/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/glib-2.0/include -I/usr/include/freetype2

Going to these places, I find GTK .h files but no binaries. This seems strange to me. First, I can't recall if I used Synaptic Package Manager to download GTK files or not (unfortunately!) . I am now wondering if Mint just installs them in these places.

Does Mint use GTK for its own purposes and if so does that intersect with my development environment- for example should I just reuse the ones Mint comes with?

Either way, whether I retrieved them or Mint came with them I can't imagine how I ended up with just .h files. It feels wrong to me. I need the object files to link to , no?

Thanks in advance !
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.