SOLVED Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
wilbobob
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Leicestershire

SOLVED Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by wilbobob » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:28 am

I've been trying to like the Brave browser (normally I use Firefox). The version of Brave I installed from Software Manager 0.26.0.1 tells me that it is out of date and will not be updated. The icon on my Desktop is greyed out. It appears that part of the build - Muon - has been replaced, and I will need to install a newer version if I am to continue my efforts to like Brave.
I'd prefer to use software from the Software Manager than from a ppa. Is it likely that the new version will be added to Software Manager in the near future, or should I use the ppa?
I'm running LM18.3 xfce 64bit on this machine, and waiting patiently for 19.1 to come off beta before upgrading. should I forget about Brave until I have 19.1 installed?
Last edited by wilbobob on Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Go Steady, but keep going

User avatar
smurphos
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4318
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by smurphos » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:50 am

https://brave.com/brave-upgrades/

I don't think Brave is available by default in Software manager anyway so you presumably added their repo or a PPA at some point. Does your notification not give instructions?
Last edited by smurphos on Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

gm10
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9167
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by gm10 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:50 am

wilbobob wrote:
Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:28 am
I'd prefer to use software from the Software Manager than from a ppa. Is it likely that the new version will be added to Software Manager in the near future, or should I use the ppa?
Brave browser isn't in Software Manager in a default 18.3, so you've already added an external source to install it from. You'll have to look into finding a better source (ideally the official one as I assume was linked above).

User avatar
smurphos
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4318
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by smurphos » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:54 am

For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9052
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by Pierre » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:13 am

it does seem that the Brave Browser, is another Web Browser, that is moving to an New Chromium-based release
- some would say, that Free & Open Source Software - is the way forward.
but, the Ad-Block function, is still, not yet, complete.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9343
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by Moem » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:32 am

Pierre wrote:
Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:13 am
it does seem that the Brave Browser, is another Web Browser, that is moving to an New Chromium-based release
That is correct, yes:
https://www.cnet.com/news/brave-browser ... oundation/
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

wilbobob
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Leicestershire

Re: SOLVED Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by wilbobob » Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:15 am

It's amazing how much I got wrong in one go.
The link in the top of the Brave homepage linked to a page with terminal instructions to install the new version in several distros with no explanation of why I would be following them. Nor any link I could find to such information.
I searched in my Software Manager to see if the new Brave was available, but only the old one was there.
There was no entry for Brave in PPA's.
So I asked here.
Then I found as has been linked above, that the explanation is on a different website to the upgrade instructions
And I found that I had indeed installed outside the LM repos, and that was visible in Additional Repositories in Software Manger.
Lessons to be learnt
1 Make a better job of recording what I do when I make changes to my system
2 Take a break and do something else for a while when it seems you are going in circles looking for answers.

Thanks to all for the responses above. I'll install the new Brave as instructed just as soon as I've finished cleaning out my rainwater gutters up on the roof
Go Steady, but keep going

DAMIEN1307
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: SOLVED Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:19 pm

I made the following post in the "open chat" part of the forum for brave browser users to get their "updates" and "updater" to work correctly again...DAMIEN

viewtopic.php?f=58&t=283183 this is from the install instructions provided below that come from Brave
ORDO AB CHAO

wilbobob
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Leicestershire

Re: SOLVED Brave Browser in software centre is outdated since yesterday

Post by wilbobob » Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:47 pm

Thanks Damien
Done. No problems
Bob
Go Steady, but keep going

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”