Page 1 of 1

how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:07 am
by 52ROSt
LM 19.1 Cinnamon

I installed from the SW Manager "nwipe" and understand that this is terminal application.

How do I start this program in the terminal?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Re: how to start nwipe

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:37 am
by Neil Edmond
Open a terminal window, then type nwipe and press enter.

Re: how to start nwipe

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:42 am
by philotux
I have never used this CLI tool (sort of disclaimer), but you can have a read on it:

Code: Select all

nwipe -h

Code: Select all

man nwipe
Maybe you could consider "Disks" utility, which have an option to overwrite all existing data on a device with zeroes while formatting it:
disks3.png

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:11 am
by 52ROSt
Thanks for your replies. Disk is "nuked"

Typing only "nwipe" even used with sudo does not work.

Key was

Code: Select all

nwipe -h
This list all parameters which are possible. I used:

Code: Select all

sudo nwipe --method=gutmann [device] 
The Disk tool can also be used, I used this first with writing zeros but wanted to understand the nwipe command.

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:46 pm
by Neil Edmond
52ROSt wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:11 am
Typing only "nwipe" even used with sudo does not work.
Hmm...works for me (without sudo). :?: Anyway, glad you got it going. Sorry I wasn't much help.

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm
by 52ROSt
Typing only

Code: Select all

nwipe
was my first attempt as well.

As it did not work, I posted my question here.

Which LM version are you using?

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:44 pm
by 52ROSt
@Neil Edmond
Sorry I wasn't much help.
Don't worry you did what works at your machine. I appreciated this.

Re: how to start nwipe [SOLVED]

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:50 pm
by Neil Edmond
52ROSt wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm
Which LM version are you using?
Several... but was on 17.3 Rosa Mate 64-bit when I tested launching nwipe.