Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
nymphius
Level 1
Level 1

Help Installing DocFetcher

Post by nymphius »

Hi all! Im relatively new to Linux, doing good so far.

# I've hit a wall trying to install DocFetcher in my Mint system due to a few reasons:
- The app only comes in 'portable' version that doesn't integrate with your operating system.
- For some reason, the daemon included doesn't run, no matter in which way I try to run it.
- Im unsure my current Java Runtime Environment meets the specifications necessary.
- There seem to be outdated tutorials available. I followed the steps in a post from 2016, about properly installing DocFetcher in Mint. Some steps were not possible due to missing components, and others simply didn't produce the expected outcome. So I carefully undid everything I read from that post. viewtopic.php?f=42&t=234643

# Why DocFetcher
- It is crucial for me to have a way of searching for text content inside documents, which to my surprise seems to be a rarity in Linux.
- I tried Recoll but had issues with it in Mint. The results didn't include any of my .odt, .docx, .md files at all. I looked at the settings but couldn't find any option to choose which filetypes to include in the search. Plus, the gui made it hard to read the results with a dark theme on Nemo; fonts were black and undistinguishable with dark theme.

Any wise and generous souls wish to enlighten a fellow Penguin in his quest for the perfect system?
phd21
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Help Installing DocFetcher

Post by phd21 »

Hi nymphius,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Mint and its excellent forum!

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.