Can't update anything

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Peter Witteveen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:12 am

Can't update anything

Postby Peter Witteveen » Thu May 31, 2007 4:08 pm

Hello there,

I really need someone's help here. I have installed vmware player from the add/remove... graphical package installer.

Since i have done this, every time i want to update something this blasted vmware player runs some kind of script and tries to replace some of its vmware files and failes to do so. The result is that every time i try to update something this just fails.

I tried to remove vmware player but when i do this at add/remove... i get an error saying that a '' pre-removal script '' has turned to error code 1, so vmware player doesn't get removed.

I really don't get this anymore, can anyone please help me? thnx

Peter

User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Can't update anything

Postby marcus0263 » Thu May 31, 2007 7:13 pm

Peter Witteveen wrote:Hello there,

I really need someone's help here. I have installed vmware player from the add/remove... graphical package installer.

Since i have done this, every time i want to update something this blasted vmware player runs some kind of script and tries to replace some of its vmware files and failes to do so. The result is that every time i try to update something this just fails.

I tried to remove vmware player but when i do this at add/remove... i get an error saying that a '' pre-removal script '' has turned to error code 1, so vmware player doesn't get removed.

I really don't get this anymore, can anyone please help me? thnx

Peter


Code: Select all

sudo vmware-uninstall.pl


This will run the uninstall and remove the daemons, modules and restore the "pre-vmware" configuration.
Shuttle SX58
Intel i7 Gulftown Hex Core
G.Skill 16Gig 1333
OCS Vertex 2 SSD
Segate SATA II
Palit GeForce GTS 450
LMKDE 14 64Bit

Where Thought Crime is Committed
Reject the Herd

Peter Witteveen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:12 am

Postby Peter Witteveen » Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:46 am

I have tried the command, but it says: ''command not found''.
Is ''vmware'' the right name?

D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby D1Wayne » Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:13 am

have you tried to logout or reboot.

vmware is not that freindly to Cassandra

I just tried a lamp app and afterwards trying to launch anything got a dislog stating I can cancel, but nothing launches re-booted and things are better

User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Postby marcus0263 » Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:08 am

Peter Witteveen wrote:I have tried the command, but it says: ''command not found''.
Is ''vmware'' the right name?


vmware-uninstall.pl

it might be something else for just player type

vm

then hit tab a few times and it'll give you the command options that start with "vm" (I love bash completion!!!).
Shuttle SX58
Intel i7 Gulftown Hex Core
G.Skill 16Gig 1333
OCS Vertex 2 SSD
Segate SATA II
Palit GeForce GTS 450
LMKDE 14 64Bit

Where Thought Crime is Committed
Reject the Herd

Peter Witteveen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:12 am

Postby Peter Witteveen » Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:33 am

Thank you all for your help.

The stuff in the command line didn't really work, but today I have tried to uninstall vmwareplayer by using the add/remove tool. And guess what? it just worked. I think its just linux that everything works in the end!

I have just updated firefox, so that works to. And about that tab completion, i should have thought about it myself.

thnx again.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bush5150 and 5 guests